Fire NOC for a commercial building: business, mercantile and mixed-use rules state by state
Updated By Flamekite Editorial DeskFacts checked against official sources on
Quick answer
A commercial building is not one class in the fire codes: offices are Group E business and shops Group F mercantile in NBC 2016, and a building with both, or with flats above, is mixed occupancy. Shops are caught lower than offices: in Delhi a mercantile building needs a fire NOC over 9 m, a business building over 15 m, and in Rajasthan either use from 9 m or 500 m² on one floor.
Uttar Pradesh, Sikkim and Assam list business and mercantile buildings at any size. Karnataka asks from 21 m whatever the use, Kerala over 1,000 m² or 15 m, Telangana above 15 m. In a complex with many owners the duty falls on the owner or occupier of the building or of each part: Punjab's 2024 Act says "individually or jointly".
Free, on WhatsApp. Or set a renewal reminder
Fire NOC for a commercial building at a glance: 11 facts
| What | The rule | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Offices in NBC 2016 | Group E Business: E-1 offices, banks, professional establishments; E-2 laboratories and outpatient clinics; E-3 IT parks and call centres; E-4 telephone exchanges; E-5 broadcasting stations | BIS, NBC 2016 Part 4 |
| Shops in NBC 2016 | Group F Mercantile: F-1 shops and markets up to 500 m² covered area, F-2 over 500 m², F-3 underground shopping centres | BIS, NBC 2016 Part 4 |
| Offices and shops in NBCS 2026 | E-I human-occupied business buildings and E-II data centres; F-I shops, stores and markets and F-II underground shopping centres | BIS, SP 7:2026 |
| Minor use inside a commercial building | NBCS 2026: up to 30% of the floor area is classed with the main use; above that the building is mixed occupancy | BIS, SP 7:2026 |
| Lowest named office line | Rajasthan: government and private offices over 6 m with at least 50 staff (order of 14 September 2023) | Rajasthan UDH |
| Covered at any size | Business and mercantile buildings in Uttar Pradesh (s.26(3)(ii)), Sikkim, Assam, Lakshadweep and Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu | UP Act 16 of 2022 |
| Highest general line | Karnataka: 21 m or more, irrespective of occupancy | Government of Karnataka |
| Mixed-use line | More than 500 m² in Uttar Pradesh, Sikkim, Manipur and Nagaland; Gujarat above 9 m or ground plus 2 | Government of Manipur |
| Who holds it in a complex | Maharashtra: the owner, or the occupier where the owner is not traceable, of the building "or part of any such building" (s.3(1)) | MFS Act 2006 copy |
| Audit above 30 m | Maharashtra s.45A: business, mercantile and mixed buildings above 30 m are audited by a licensed auditor every 2 years | Amendment Act 2023 |
| National code status | NBC 2016 was withdrawn on 30 April 2026; NBCS 2026 is voluntary, and only Assam had written it into its fire law by 24 October 2026 | Assam Act XIII of 2026 |
Commercial building fire NOC lines in 24 states and UTs
| Option | Offices (business) | Shops (mercantile) | Mixed use | Instrument | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Delhi | Over 15 m, or 5 or more storeys | Over 9 m, or 3 or more storeys | Not a separate row; mezzanines and stilts count as storeys | DFS Rules 2010, Rule 27 as amended, gazetted 26 May 2026 | DFS |
| Rajasthan | 9 m or more, or over 500 m² on any floor; offices over 6 m with 50 or more staff | 9 m or more, or over 500 m² on any floor | Tested against the residential and commercial rows; any building above 15 m | UDH and LSG order of 14 September 2023, Table 1 | Rajasthan UDH |
| Uttar Pradesh | Any size | Any size | More than 500 m² covered | Act 16 of 2022, s.26(3) | UP Act 16 of 2022 |
| Telangana | Above 15 m | Above 15 m | Not separately stated | Fire Service Act 1999, s.13; circular of 5 March 2016; Rc.No.3455/MSB/2026 | TSDRFS circular 2016 |
| Karnataka | 21 m or more; Seva Sindhu still lists above 15 m | 21 m or more | 21 m or more | Fire Force Act, s.13(3) as amended in 2023 | Government of Karnataka |
| Kerala | Over 1,000 m² built-up or over 15 m | Over 1,000 m² or over 15 m; 300 to 1,000 m² file Appendix L | Not separately stated; multiplexes (Group J) at any size | Municipality Building Rules, rule 5(4) | KMBR amendment 2025 |
| Maharashtra | Schedule-I sets installations from below 10 m | Schedule-I sets installations from ground plus 1 | Above 30 m: fire officer, monitoring system and the 2-yearly audit (s.45) | Act of 2006, Schedule-I substituted in 2023 | MH Schedule-I 2023 |
| Punjab | Every building in a notified risk class; the notification was not found | Same | Same | Act 12 of 2024, ss.22 and 23 | Punjab Gazette |
| Gujarat | Above 15 m, or a floor over 500 m² | Ground plus 1 under 15 m with over 500 m² in total; every shopping mall | Above 9 m or ground plus 2 | Fire Regulations 2023, Third Schedule, Table 1 | Gujarat Fire Safety Compliance Portal |
| Haryana | More than 500 m² on any one or more floors | More than 500 m² on any one or more floors | More than 500 m² on any one or more floors | Act 14 of 2022, s.18(2) | Government of Haryana |
| Chandigarh | More than 500 m² on any floor | More than 500 m² on any floor | More than 500 m² on any floor | Haryana Act 2022 as extended by S.O. 2264(E) of 6 May 2026 | Gazette of India |
| Andhra Pradesh | More than 500 m² on any one floor; any building of 24 m or more | More than 500 m² on any one floor | Not separately stated | Fire Service Act 1999, s.13(1) as amended in 2026 | Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly |
| Bihar | 15 m or more; any floor above 500 m² | 15 m or more; any floor above 500 m² | Same lines | Fire Service Rules 2021, rule 15(a) | Bihar Rules 2021 |
| Odisha | 12 m and above, or 500 m² built-up | 9 m and above, or 500 m² built-up | Not separately stated | Fire Safety Rules 2017, rule 9(1) as substituted on 6 March 2019 | Odisha Rules 2019 |
| Chhattisgarh | 12 m or more, or 500 m² built-up | Above 9 m, or 500 m² built-up; every underground shopping structure | Not separately stated | Section 14(1) notification of 29 November 2022 | Home Department, Chhattisgarh |
| Manipur | More than 15 m or ground plus 4 | More than 9 m or ground plus 2 | More than 500 m² | Act 9 of 2026, s.24(3), in force 14 September 2026 | Government of Manipur |
| Nagaland | More than 15 m or ground plus 4 | More than 9 m or ground plus 2 | Above 500 m² | Act 5 of 2023, s.24(3) | Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services, Nagaland |
| Sikkim | Any size | Any size | Over 500 m² | Act 4 of 2023, s.24(3); Rules 2025 | Sikkim Gazette 226 |
| Assam | Business buildings listed with no size | Mercantile buildings listed with no size | Not separately stated | Act LIII of 2025, s.20(1) | Assam Act LIII of 2025 |
| Meghalaya | Exceeding 15 m | Commercial use over 500 m² covered | Over 500 m² covered | Building Bye-Laws 2021, A2.30 and A2.59 | Bye-Laws 2021 |
| Tripura | Above 10 m or 200 m² for the full route | Above 10 m or 200 m² for the full route | Not separately stated | Fire Safety Rules 2026, rules 6 and 7 | Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services, Tripura |
| West Bengal | E-1 up to 15.5 m and 500 m² self-certifies yearly | F-1 up to 9 m and 500 m² self-certifies yearly | Multipurpose buildings are a notified occupancy | Notification 1930 of 1 March 2024 | WB notification 1930 |
| Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu | Business buildings named with no size | Shops named with no size | Over 500 m² on all floors | Regulation 6 of 2026, s.29(2), in force 7 July 2026 | Gazette of India Extraordinary |
| Goa | Every establishment registered under the Shops and Establishments Act | Every registered shop | More than 15 m for any building | Section 13 notification of 17 December 2014 | DFES Goa charter |
Getting a commercial building's fire NOC in 8 steps
Name every use on every floor
List the floors as business (E), mercantile (F) or other. If one use takes more than 30% of the floor area beside the main one, NBCS 2026 treats the building as mixed occupancy, and the strictest rules govern the whole.
Test the building against your state's row
Use the state table above: Delhi counts storeys as well as metres, Rajasthan and Haryana count area on one floor, Kerala counts built-up area of all floors, Karnataka counts only height.
Decide who applies
One application for the whole building from the owner, the developer or the association, unless the state lets a part be certified alone. In Maharashtra the duty sits on the owner or occupier of the building or part; in Punjab owners and occupiers may apply individually or jointly.
Design the systems for the height band
Below 15 m an office or shop building needs extinguishers, hose reels and a terrace tank, with a down-comer or wet riser as Table 7 sets; above 15 m a wet riser, yard hydrant, sprinklers and automatic detection. Basements over 200 m² add sprinklers.
Apply at plan stage with drawings
File the fire drawings, ownership papers and fee on the state portal before the building permit. Telangana's section 13 and Punjab's section 23(1) bar plan approval without the NOC; Maharashtra's section 3(2) bars the completion certificate.
Install through a licensed agency and pass inspection
The agency certifies the work; the fire officer checks exits, stairs, risers, pumps, tanks and alarms before the final NOC, which comes before the occupancy certificate.
Appoint a Fire Safety Officer where the law asks
Uttar Pradesh asks for one in business and mercantile buildings above 24 m or over 10,000 m²; going without one costs Rs 10 to Rs 50 per m² a month in most Acts.
File the periodic returns and renew
Form B every January and July in Maharashtra, Form A-8 in Uttar Pradesh, the Telangana audit each January; renew 3-year non-residential certificates in Delhi, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar before they lapse.
Business, mercantile, mixed: how the codes split a commercial building
No fire code has a group called commercial. These 9 terms are the classes a fire officer prints on a commercial building's certificate.
- Group E Business (NBC 2016)
- Buildings for transacting business, keeping accounts and records, and professional work, in 5 subdivisions from E-1 offices and banks to E-5 broadcasting stations and air traffic control towers. BIS, NBC 2016 Part 4
- E-I and E-II (NBCS 2026)
- The 2026 standard folds the 5 subdivisions into 2: E-I human-occupied business buildings, and E-II data centres, a machine environment. BIS, SP 7:2026
- Group F Mercantile (NBC 2016)
- Shops, stores, departmental stores and markets for display and sale, wholesale or retail: F-1 up to 500 m² covered area, F-2 above it, F-3 underground shopping centres. BIS, NBC 2016 Part 4
- F-I and F-II (NBCS 2026)
- Shops, stores and markets (F-I) and underground shopping centres (F-II). The 500 m² split of 2016 is gone. BIS, SP 7:2026
- D-6 mixed assembly and mercantile (NBC 2016)
- Shopping malls with cinemas, multiplexes and food courts sit in assembly, not mercantile; NBCS 2026's Group D list now begins with shopping malls. BIS, NBC 2016 Part 4
- Minor occupancy
- A use incidental to the main one, classed with it. NBCS 2026 caps it at 30% of the floor area; above that the building is mixed. BIS, SP 7:2026
- Mixed occupancy (Group K in NBCS 2026)
- Two or more uses intermingled in one building. The whole building follows the strictest provisions among its uses. BIS, SP 7:2026
- Hazardous goods in a shop
- A mercantile building where highly hazardous goods predominate is treated as Group J hazardous (NBCS 2026, clause 6.6.2). BIS, SP 7:2026
- Commercial (state usage)
- Some state instruments still use the word: Bihar's Schedule C has a "Commercial/Mercantile" fee row, and Rajasthan's 2023 order has an "other commercial" row at 15 m. Bihar Rules 2021
Fire systems in a commercial building by height: NBC 2016 Table 7 rows
NBC 2016 Table 7 gives business and mercantile buildings separate rows. Flamekite read them off the page images of the BIS-licensed copy; Maharashtra's Schedule-I of 2023 copies them with 2 changes, noted below.
| Hose, riser and hydrant | Sprinklers | Alarm and detection | Water storage and pumps | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Office below 10 m NBC 2016, Table 7 | Extinguishers, hose reel, down-comer | Basement over 200 m² only | Manual electric alarm | Terrace tank 10,000 litres; terrace pump 450 l/min |
| Office above 10 m to 15 m NBC 2016, Table 7 | Hose reel and wet riser | Basement over 200 m² only | Manual alarm and automatic detection | Underground 50,000 litres, terrace 5,000; pumps of 1,620 l/min (Note 14) |
| Office above 15 m to 24 m NBC 2016, Table 7 | Wet riser and yard hydrant | Whole building | Manual alarm and automatic detection | Underground 1,00,000 litres, terrace 10,000; 2,280 l/min pump set (Note 10) |
| Office above 24 m to 30 m NBC 2016, Table 7 | Wet riser and yard hydrant | Whole building | Manual alarm and automatic detection | Underground 1,50,000 litres, terrace 20,000 (Note 11) |
| Office above 30 m NBC 2016, Table 7 | Wet riser and yard hydrant | Whole building | Manual alarm and automatic detection | Underground 2,00,000 litres, terrace 20,000; 2,850 l/min pumps (Note 12) |
| Shop under 15 m, ground plus 1, up to 500 m² in all NBC 2016, Table 7 | Extinguishers and hose reel | Basement over 200 m² only | Not required | Terrace tank 5,000 litres; terrace pump 450 l/min |
| Shop under 15 m, ground plus 1 over 500 m², or taller NBC 2016, Table 7 | Hose reel and down-comer | Basement over 200 m² only | Manual electric alarm | Terrace tank 20,000 or 25,000 litres; terrace pump 900 l/min |
| Shop above 15 m to 24 m NBC 2016, Table 7 | Wet riser and yard hydrant | Whole building | Manual alarm and automatic detection | Underground 1,00,000 litres, terrace 10,000 (Note 10) |
| Shop above 24 m to 30 m NBC 2016, Table 7 | Wet riser and yard hydrant | Whole building | Manual alarm and automatic detection | Underground 2,00,000 litres, terrace 20,000 (Note 11) |
| Underground shopping complex (F-3) NBC 2016, Table 7 | Wet riser and yard hydrant | Whole building | Manual alarm and automatic detection | Underground 1,50,000 litres, terrace 10,000 (Note 11) |
In the rows below 15 m, a basement over 200 m² adds the bracketed 5,000 litres to the terrace tank and 450 l/min to the terrace pump (Note 6). Under Note 16, Group F buildings above 30 m are not permitted, so the table has no shop row beyond it. Maharashtra's Schedule-I keeps that bar in Note 3(b), drops the yard hydrant for shops of 15 m to 24 m, and above 15 m extends sprinklers to the entire building, common and livable areas alike (Note 15(b)).
NBCS 2026 protection levels for commercial buildings: self-certify, HL-3 or CL-2 to CL-5
NBCS 2026 Tables 7E and 7F grade offices and shops by floor area as well as height: shop buildings up to 30 m and office buildings up to 45 m are graded by area. A small commercial building may be self-certified; a large one moves up the levels.
Up to 500 m² and 15 m
Self-certification
For both business and mercantile buildings, where both limits are met, self-certification by a certified, state-approved building professional is treated as acceptable. BIS, SP 7:2026
Shops, 501 to 1,000 m²
HL-3
Extinguishers, a first-aid hose reel, a down-comer and automatic detection. No wet riser, hydrant, sprinkler or voice evacuation. BIS, SP 7:2026
Shops, 1,001 m² and above
CL-4
Wet riser, yard hydrant, sprinklers and detection join the extinguishers and hose reel; the down-comer drops out. Above 30 m Table 7F asks only for hydraulic design (Note 5). BIS, SP 7:2026
Offices, 500 to 1,000 m²
CL-2
Extinguishers, hose reel, down-comer, sprinklers, detection and a public address and voice evacuation system. BIS, SP 7:2026
Offices, 1,001 to 3,000 m² and above, up to 45 m
CL-3 and CL-4
Wet riser and yard hydrant in place of the down-comer, with sprinklers, detection and voice evacuation throughout. BIS, SP 7:2026
Offices above 45 m to 60 m
CL-5
The same installations at the higher protection level; over 60 m the design rests on hydraulic calculations with multi-level pumping and pumps of no more than 12 bar shut-off. BIS, SP 7:2026
EV parking in a basement or podium
CL-5 sprinklers
Any commercial building with electric-vehicle parking in a podium or basement is sprinklered to CL-5; in shop buildings Table 7F also asks for rate-of-rise heat detection in the parking and charging areas. BIS, SP 7:2026
Maharashtra's section 3(1): the commercial building owner or occupier of each part
The clearest statement Flamekite found of who carries the fire duty in a building with many owners is in Maharashtra's 2006 Act.
Word for word
the owner or where the owner is not traceable, the occupier, of a building as classified in the Schedule-I or part of any such building shall provide fire prevention and life safety measures in such building or part thereof, minimum fire fighting installations as specified against such building in the said Schedule; and the owner or, as the case may be, the occupier shall maintain the fire prevention and life safety measures in good repair and efficient condition at all times
Read with the definitions, 3 things follow for a commercial complex. "Occupier" in section 2(10) includes anyone paying rent for a building or any part of it, a licensee in occupation, and an association or corporation liable to pay for its use, so a tenant running a shop is caught. "Owner" in section 2(11) includes a builder, developer or promoter selling under the 1963 and 1970 flat and apartment Acts. And section 3(3) puts the January and July certificate on the owner or occupier "as the case may be", which is why a complex usually files one Form B for the common systems.
Who holds the fire NOC in a commercial complex with many owners: 8 cases
Most Acts put the duty on owners and occupiers together and leave the split to them. Match your case to a line; where the Act is silent, the line says so.
If A complex in Maharashtra with one developer still holding unsold units
The developer is an owner under section 2(11); each unit holder is an occupier under section 2(10). Both carry the section 3(1) duty for their part. Fire NOC Maharashtra MFS Act 2006 copy
If A complex in Punjab with many owners
Section 23(1): owners and occupiers obtain the Provisional and Final certificates "either individually or jointly". The portal has a separate Apply Multi-block Complex route. Fire NOC Punjab Punjab Gazette
If A Punjab building run by a residents' society
Section 2(1)(p) makes the association of owners of a residential society the owner. The Act says nothing similar for a commercial association. Punjab Gazette
If A Maharashtra building of more than 30 m with offices or shops
The section 45A audit falls on the owner, or the occupier where the owner is not traceable, every 2 years. Fire Audit Maharashtra Amendment Act 2023
If A Haryana or Chandigarh complex that must have a Fire Safety Officer
The monthly charge for going without one is counted on the floor area including common areas: Rs 10 to Rs 50 per m² in Haryana, Rs 100 to Rs 200 in Chandigarh. Fire NOC Haryana Government of Haryana
If A Jharkhand complex without its Fire Safety Officer
Owners and occupiers are jointly and severally liable for the Rs 10 to Rs 50 per m² monthly charge (section 31). Fire NOC Jharkhand Government of Jharkhand
If A Gujarat building after its first renewal
Form B-15 is declared every 6 months by the owner or occupier together with the Fire Safety Officer (rule 26(2), 2021). Fire NOC Gujarat Gujarat Rules 2021
If A shop or eatery in a Mumbai complex
Besides the building's approval, the trade gets its own fire NOC from MCGM under section 394 of the MMC Act; above 20 LPG cylinders a Deputy CFO signs it. Mumbai Fire Brigade
Mixed-use commercial buildings: shops below, offices or flats above
A building with shops on the ground floor and flats or offices above is the commonest commercial building in India, and every code treats it as mixed occupancy once the second use is more than incidental.
NBCS 2026 caps a minor occupancy at 30% of the floor area. Above that, clause 3.1.11 makes the building Group K mixed occupancy, and the whole building follows the strictest provisions among its uses. Its separation table asks for 120-minute fire-resisting separation between business or mercantile floors and residential, educational, institutional or assembly floors, and does not permit business beside storage or hazardous uses at all. Exits may be shared only if their total meets the mixed requirement and stay open during the business hours of every use sharing them; otherwise each use needs its own.
NBC 2016, which most existing buildings were approved under, already required the strictest provisions to govern, with 240 minutes between occupancies. Maharashtra's Schedule-I adds Note 8: in a complex of buildings with different classifications, the fire systems follow the strictest classification among them.
States draw a mixed-use line of their own. Uttar Pradesh, Sikkim, Manipur and Nagaland bring in mixed buildings of more than 500 m²; Haryana and Chandigarh test more than 500 m² on any floor; Gujarat brings in mixed use above 9 m or ground plus 2; Maharashtra's section 45 reaches mixed buildings above 30 m "of whatever kind or purposes". Rajasthan's 2023 order tests a mixed building against its residential and commercial rows, so a shop floor over 500 m² brings in a building whose flats alone would not.
| What | The rule | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Minor use cap | 30% of floor area (NBCS 2026, 3.1.1.1) | BIS, SP 7:2026 |
| Shops or offices beside flats | 120-minute separation (NBCS 2026, 3.1.11.1) | BIS, SP 7:2026 |
| Offices beside storage or hazardous use | Not permitted (NBCS 2026, 3.1.11.1) | BIS, SP 7:2026 |
| Complex with mixed classes, Maharashtra | Strictest classification governs (Schedule-I, Note 8) | MH Schedule-I 2023 |
| Mixed buildings, Uttar Pradesh | Fire NOC above 500 m² covered (s.26(3)) | UP Act 16 of 2022 |
| Mixed buildings, Gujarat | Above 9 m or ground plus 2 (Table 1) | Gujarat Fire Safety Compliance Portal |
| Mixed buildings above 30 m, Maharashtra | Fire officer, monitoring system and 2-yearly audit (s.45) | MFS Act 2006 copy |
A commercial building's fire compliance year: the filings after the NOC
The NOC is the start. These 9 recurring duties apply to offices and shops after it, in the order they fall in a year.
Every January and July, Maharashtra
Form B from a licensed agency on the upkeep of the fire systems; it replaces renewal. MFS circular 64
Every January, Telangana
A third-party fire audit for business, mercantile and educational buildings above 15 m and below 30 m. TG fire circular 2020
January and July, Telangana
The audit twice a year for business and mercantile buildings above 30 m, and for malls and multiplexes. TG fire circular 2020
January and July, Uttar Pradesh
The owner's self-declaration on Form A-8 keeps the certificate in good standing. UP Rules 2024
January and July, Manipur
The owner's Form C maintenance declaration, countersigned by the Fire Safety Officer. Government of Manipur
Every 6 months after renewal, Gujarat
Form B-15 by the owner or occupier and the Fire Safety Officer. Gujarat Fire Safety Compliance Portal
Once a year, Rajasthan
An inspection and mock drill by a listed agency or fire officer, allotted at random through the online fire portal. Rajasthan UDH
Every 2 years, Maharashtra above 30 m
The section 45A Fire and Life Safety Audit by a licensed auditor, on Form V. Amendment Act 2023
Yearly from 20 May 2027, Delhi
Form K, the online declaration with a Rs 1,000 fee that will keep a Delhi certificate valid. DFS
Commercial building fire NOC fees in the official schedules
Fees for offices and shops are set by area in most schedules, and several states charge commercial uses more than homes. These are the published lines; a consultant's quote is a private price.
As published
- Bihar, commercial and mercantileRs 8 per m² provisional, Rs 4 finalRenewal and fire audit Rs 4 per m²; residential pays Rs 2 and Rs 1 Bihar Rules 2021
- Karnataka, non-residential high-riseRs 60 per m²Minimum Rs 5,00,000; residential Rs 35 Seva Sindhu
- Kerala, offices under 10 mRs 20 per m²Rs 40 per m² from 10 m; minimum Rs 26,000 Kerala Fire and Rescue Services
- Gujarat, offices of 15 m to 24 mRs 10 per m²Shopping malls Rs 25 per m² at any size Gujarat Fire Safety Compliance Portal
- Rajasthan, municipal corporation areaRs 2 per sq ftRs 1.50 in a Nagar Parishad, Rs 1 in a Nagar Palika; renewal application Rs 10,000, 7,500 or 5,000 Rajasthan UDH
- Punjab, shop or office up to 15 m, plot under 200 sq ydRs 20,0002021 letter; larger and taller buildings add 50% of the base Local Govt Punjab
- Meghalaya, E-1 officesRs 3 per m²Shops F-1 Rs 6, F-2 Rs 7, F-3 Rs 8; annual renewal Rs 500 to Rs 2,500 Meghalaya F&ES
- Telangana, fire precaution feeRs 10 per m²Of total built-up area G.O.Ms.No.142
- Andhra Pradesh, commercial buildingsRs 10 per m²Plus a 15% bank guarantee on the fire installation AP State Disaster Response and Fire Services
- Chandigarh, by building groupRs 14 per m²Minimum Rs 6,615 MCC Office Order 23
- Odisha, renewal of a non-residential buildingRs 2 per m²Homes pay Rs 1 Odisha Fire Service
- Uttar Pradesh and Tamil NaduNo portal feeAs each portal states UP Fire dashboard
Worked example, Flamekite's arithmetic: a 3,000 m² shopping building in Patna pays 3,000 x Rs 8 = Rs 24,000 for the provisional NOC and Rs 12,000 for the final. Every state's schedule is on the fire NOC fees page.
Penalties for running a commercial building without fire compliance
The Acts punish the missing certificate, the lapsed systems and the missing safety officer separately. These are the amounts the instruments set.
| Offence | Penalty | Law |
|---|---|---|
| No fire NOC, or equipment missing, Rajasthan | Rs 5,000 on the owner or user; Rs 5,000 more for late renewal | Section 291, Rajasthan Municipalities Act 2009; order of 14 September 2023 Rajasthan UDH |
| Fire systems not maintained, Maharashtra | Rigorous imprisonment of 6 months to 3 years and a fine of Rs 20,000 to Rs 50,000 | Section 36(1), Act of 2006 MFS Act 2006 copy |
| No Fire Safety Officer, Delhi | Rs 10 to Rs 50 per m² of floor area a month | Section 31(2), Delhi Fire Service Act 2007 Caseminestudy |
| No Fire Safety Officer, Uttar Pradesh | Rs 10 to Rs 50 per m² of built-up area a month | Section 33, Act 16 of 2022 UP Act 16 of 2022 |
| No periodic returns, Punjab | Rs 5,000 plus a daily fine of up to Rs 100, 300 or 500, declared and paid at renewal | Section 45, Act 12 of 2024 Punjab Gazette |
| Fire systems found ineffective after a self-declaration, Kerala | Rs 100 per m² of the building | Municipality Building Rules 2019 KMBR 2019 |
Flamekite reading: in a complex, the Delhi, Uttar Pradesh and Haryana charges are counted per m², so they grow with the building, not with the number of owners. Every state's penalties are on the penalties page.
Where commercial buildings fail the fire NOC, and the fix
Most commercial failures come from a use the approval did not foresee. These 7 come from the codes and the 2026 cases.
If A building approved as residential but run as offices, coaching rooms or a gaming centre
Apply for change of use and a fresh fire NOC first. The Aliganj building in Lucknow, where 15 died on 22 June 2026, was approved as residential and used commercially, as reported. ThePrintnews report
If A 16 m to 23 m office block in Telangana treated as exempt
Business and mercantile buildings above 15 m still need the NOC; only the fire tower and command centre moved to 24 m in October 2026. TGFD circular 3455
If A basement shop or store over 200 m² with no sprinklers
NBC 2016 Table 7 Note 4 and Maharashtra's Schedule-I both ask for basement sprinklers above 200 m², at every height. NBC 2016, Table 7
If Shops planned above 30 m
NBC 2016 Note 16 and Maharashtra's Note 3(b) do not permit mercantile buildings above 30 m. NBCS 2026 sends them to hydraulic design instead, but it binds only where adopted. MH Schedule-I 2023
If Shops and offices sharing one stair with different hours
NBCS 2026 lets mixed uses share exits only with unrestricted egress in every use's business hours; otherwise give each use its own. BIS, SP 7:2026
If An office floor with a single exit
NBCS 2026 asks for at least 2 exits on every floor of a business building, basements used as offices included. BIS, SP 7:2026
If Extra LPG cylinders in a Mumbai eatery
The MCGM trade NOC is tied to the cylinder count; above 20 it moves up to a Deputy CFO, so declare the real number. Mumbai Fire Brigade
Commercial building fire NOC worked cases: 8 buildings
Flamekite's reading of the rules for 8 example buildings; the buildings are illustrations, the figures are the instruments'.
Case 1
A 12 m shopping building in Delhi
Ground plus 3 storeys of shops.
What applies Over 9 m and 4 storeys, so Rule 27's mercantile line catches it. The same building as offices would stay under the business line of 15 m or 5 storeys. DFS
Case 2
An 8 m office in Jaipur
Ground plus 2, 60 government staff.
What applies Over 6 m with at least 50 staff, so the 2023 order's office row needs a fire NOC, renewed generally every year. Rajasthan UDH
Case 3
A 20 m office in Hyderabad's Financial District
Business, above 15 m and below 30 m.
What applies A fire NOC is needed; a fire tower and command centre are not, below 24 m. The third-party audit is due every January. TG fire circular 2020
Case 4
A 32 m mixed tower in Pune
Shops on 2 floors, offices above.
What applies A section 45 building: a fire officer or supervisor, a continuous monitoring system and the licensed audit every 2 years, plus Form B every January and July. MFS Act 2006 copy
Case 5
A 700 m² two-storey shop in Thiruvananthapuram
Mercantile, 8 m.
What applies Under 1,000 m² and 15 m, so no NOC: the owner files an Appendix L self-declaration and copies it to the fire station. KMBR 2019
Case 6
An 8,000 m² office of 24 m in Hubballi
Business, Karnataka.
What applies At 21 m or more the NOC applies; 8,000 x Rs 60 is Rs 4,80,000, below the Rs 5,00,000 floor, so the fee is Rs 5,00,000. Seva Sindhu
Case 7
A 2-storey shop of 450 m² in Noida
Mercantile, under 15 m.
What applies Covered at any size by section 26(3)(ii), but under Rule 42 it needs no qualified agency certificate below 15 m and 500 m². The certificate runs 3 years. UP Rules 2024
Case 8
A ground-plus-3 building in Gurugram with shops and offices
650 m² on the ground floor.
What applies More than 500 m² on one floor, so section 18(2) of the Haryana Act brings it in whatever its height. Government of Haryana
Commercial building fire rules in numbers
9 m
Shops need a fire NOC above this in Delhi, Manipur and Nagaland, and from it in Rajasthan DFS
15 m
Offices need one above this in Delhi and Telangana TSDRFS circular 2016
500 m²
On any one floor: the area line for offices and shops in Haryana, Andhra Pradesh and Rajasthan Government of Haryana
30 m
Above this NBC 2016 permits no mercantile building, and Maharashtra audits business buildings every 2 years NBC 2016, Table 7
30 %
Of the floor area: the most a minor use may take before NBCS 2026 calls the building mixed BIS, SP 7:2026
200 m²
A basement larger than this needs sprinklers in a commercial building NBC 2016, Table 7
120 min
Fire separation between shop or office floors and flats in NBCS 2026 BIS, SP 7:2026
2 exits
The minimum on every floor of a business building BIS, SP 7:2026
Commercial building fire NOC myths, checked against the rules
You may have read
A commercial building needs a fire NOC only above 15 m.
Myth
What the sources say
Delhi catches shops over 9 m, Rajasthan offices over 6 m with 50 staff, and Uttar Pradesh every business and mercantile building at any size. UP Act 16 of 2022
You may have read
Shops and offices follow the same line everywhere.
Myth
What the sources say
Delhi, Manipur and Nagaland set shops at 9 m and offices at 15 m; Odisha sets shops at 9 m and offices at 12 m. Karnataka is the exception, at 21 m whatever the use. Odisha Rules 2019
You may have read
Each shop in a complex needs its own fire NOC.
Myth
What the sources say
None of the fire Acts Flamekite read asks for a NOC per unit; the duty for the building is shared by its owners and occupiers. Separate trade NOCs exist in some cities, such as Mumbai's under the MMC Act. Punjab Gazette
You may have read
A tenant has no fire duty; only the landlord does.
Myth
What the sources say
Maharashtra's "occupier" includes anyone paying rent and any licensee in occupation, and Punjab binds owners and occupiers individually or jointly. MFS Act 2006 copy
You may have read
Telangana's 24 m rule of 2026 covers commercial buildings.
Myth
What the sources say
Circular 3455 of 2026 moved only residential apartments to 24 m; business and mercantile buildings above 15 m still need the NOC. TGFD circular 3455
You may have read
A shopping mall is just a large shop under the codes.
Myth
What the sources say
NBC 2016 puts malls with cinemas and food courts in D-6 mixed assembly and mercantile, and NBCS 2026 lists shopping malls first among assembly buildings. BIS, NBC 2016 Part 4
Commercial building fires and fire NOC drives reported, 2022 to 2026
From news reports, not yet an official source.
No fire service publishes how many commercial buildings hold a valid NOC. These reports, all secondary, show the pattern: a fatal fire, then a sealing or audit drive.
22 September 2026
ThePrint (PTI) reports Rajasthan's Human Rights Commission asked the Jaipur administration for this year's action against commercial complexes without fire NOCs. ThePrintnews report
9 July 2026
PTI reports the Aliganj building in Lucknow, where 15 died on 22 June, was approved as residential but used as a multi-storey commercial establishment. ThePrintnews report
5 June 2026
The Free Press Journal reports BMC and the Mumbai Fire Brigade began a joint drive of malls, star hotels, banquet halls and restaurants from 6 to 20 June. Free Press Journalnews report
June 2026
Deccan Chronicle reports Delhi's Chief Minister ordered a special fire safety audit of hotels, commercial establishments and public buildings after the 3 June fire. Deccan Chroniclenews report
4 January 2026
PropNewsTime reports Ludhiana gave commercial buildings, industry, schools and coaching centres 30 days to obtain a fire NOC, with fines up to Rs 50,000 and sealing. PropNewsTimenews report
13 May 2022
27 people die in a fire in a commercial building in Mundka, Delhi. Wikipedianews report
Where a commercial building owner applies for the fire NOC
These 8 official portals took business and mercantile fire applications on 25 October 2026.
Punjab
Punjab Fire NOC portal
New NOC, renewal and a separate route for multi-block complexes Punjab Fire portal
firenoc.lgpunjab.gov.inMaharashtra
MFS E-Approval
Provisional and Final NOC where no municipal Chief Fire Officer approves MFS e-fire
mahafireservice.gov.in/e-fire.phpUttar Pradesh
UP Fire Service
Certificates for shops and offices of any size, free of portal fee UP Fire FAQ
upfireservice.gov.in/upfire/user/loginTelangana
TGFD Building NOC login
Provisional and Occupancy NOCs for buildings above 15 m TGFD Building NOC
fire.telangana.gov.in/Login1.aspxGujarat
GujFireSafety CoP
Fire Safety Plan and Certificate approvals, renewals and mock-drill records Gujarat FSCOP
fscop.gujfiresafetycop.inKarnataka
Seva Sindhu: high-rise NOC
The NOC for buildings of 21 m and above, at Rs 60 per m² for non-residential use Seva Sindhu
sevasindhu.karnataka.gov.in/category/Application%20for%20No%20Objection%20Certificate%20(High%20rise%20Building)%20-%20Fire%20&%20Emergency.htmlBihar
Bihar Fire NOC and Audit portal
Provisional, final and renewal NOCs and fire audits at Schedule C rates Bihar Fire Service
firenoc.bihar.gov.inRajasthan
Rajasthan LSG online: fire service
NOC and renewal for shops and offices under the 2023 order Local Self Government Department, Rajasthan
lsgonline.rajasthan.gov.in/fire_service.aspx
Running a commercial complex's fire systems: 5 dos and 4 don'ts
Shared buildings fail when no one owns the common systems. These rules come from the Acts and orders above.
Do
- Agree in writing who files Form B or its state equivalent for the common pumps, risers and alarms; Maharashtra puts it on the owner or occupier "as the case may be". MFS Act 2006 copy
- Apply to renew online at least 15 days before expiry in Rajasthan; a complete application not decided in 30 days is deemed approved. Rajasthan UDH
- Keep exits shared between shops and offices open through every use's business hours, or give each use its own. BIS, SP 7:2026
- Treat a shop selling mostly hazardous goods as Group J and plan its fire systems for that. BIS, SP 7:2026
- Fix the term on your certificate: 3 years for non-residential buildings in Delhi until 20 May 2027, in Uttar Pradesh and in Bihar. DFS
Don’t
- Don't tamper with, alter or remove any fire equipment, or let a tenant do it; Maharashtra's section 3(4) makes it an offence. MFS Act 2006 copy
- Don't read the fire NOC as a regularisation: Rajasthan's order says it does not regularise any building, ownership, plan, occupancy or land use. Rajasthan UDH
- Don't put offices beside storage or hazardous uses in one building; NBCS 2026 does not permit the mix. BIS, SP 7:2026
- Don't assume the developer's NOC covers your fit-out in Punjab: owners and occupiers obtain the certificates individually or jointly. Punjab Gazette
What Flamekite could not confirm about commercial building fire rules: 7 gaps
These points were searched for and not found in an official text by 25 October 2026. Ask your fire office in writing where they matter.
- Punjab's risk-class notification under section 22 of the 2024 Act, which decides which commercial buildings are low, medium or high risk. Punjab Gazette
- Whether any state issues a separate fire NOC per shop or office unit in a certified complex; only Mumbai's trade NOC under the MMC Act was found. Mumbai Fire Brigade
- Karnataka's position for offices between 15 m and 21 m: the 2023 Act says 21 m, Seva Sindhu still lists above 15 m. Government of Karnataka
- Maharashtra's Schedule-II fee rates and Schedule-I Note 22, which Flamekite has not read off the gazette images. Amendment Act 2023
- A business or mercantile line below 18.3 m in Tamil Nadu: none is published. TN Single Window
- The installations NBCS 2026 expects for a shop building above 30 m: Table 7F gives only Note 5, hydraulic design. BIS, SP 7:2026
- Whether Uttar Pradesh's Nil portal fee rests on an order: the dashboard shows Nil, but no fee-waiver notification was found. UP Fire dashboard
Questions about fire NOCs for commercial buildings
Is a fire NOC mandatory for a commercial building?
- Yes, once the building crosses its state's line. Delhi asks for shops over 9 m and offices over 15 m, Rajasthan for either from 9 m or over 500 m² on a floor, Telangana above 15 m, Karnataka from 21 m, and Uttar Pradesh for every business and mercantile building at any size.
What is a commercial building in the National Building Code?
- There is no commercial group. Offices are Group E business and shops Group F mercantile; malls with cinemas or food courts are D-6 assembly in NBC 2016; and a building with shops and flats or offices together is mixed occupancy.
Who applies for the fire NOC in a commercial complex with many owners?
- Usually the owner, developer or association applies for the whole building, but the law puts the duty on owners and occupiers together. Punjab's 2024 Act lets them apply individually or jointly; Maharashtra's Act names the owner or occupier of the building or any part of it.
What fire systems does a commercial building above 15 m need?
- Under NBC 2016 Table 7, an office or shop building above 15 m needs extinguishers, hose reels, a wet riser, a yard hydrant, sprinklers, a manual alarm and automatic detection, with an underground tank of 1,00,000 litres or more.
Does a mixed-use building with shops and flats need a fire NOC?
- Often below the residential line. Uttar Pradesh, Sikkim, Manipur and Nagaland bring in mixed buildings over 500 m², Gujarat above 9 m or ground plus 2, and Haryana over 500 m² on any floor.
How long is a commercial building's fire NOC valid?
- It depends on the state: 3 years for non-residential buildings in Delhi until 20 May 2027, in Uttar Pradesh and in Bihar; generally 1 year in Rajasthan. Maharashtra replaces renewal with Form B every January and July.
How much is the fire NOC fee for a commercial building?
- Published rates include Rs 8 per m² for a Bihar provisional NOC, Rs 60 per m² with a Rs 5,00,000 minimum in Karnataka, Rs 2 per sq ft in a Rajasthan corporation area, and Rs 20,000 for a small Punjab shop or office. Uttar Pradesh charges no portal fee.
Does a commercial building need a fire audit?
- In some states, yes. Telangana requires a third-party audit every January for business and mercantile buildings of 15 m to 30 m, and every January and July above 30 m; Maharashtra audits those above 30 m every 2 years.
Keep reading
- Fire NOC for EV charging stationsEV parking and charging in a commercial basement: what NBCS 2026 allows.
- Fire NOC for shopsSingle shops and market rows below the commercial line, and the licences that ask.
- Fire NOC for officesTenants, fit-outs, fire wardens and the OSH Code for office floors.
- Fire NOC for mallsWhen a shopping centre becomes a D-6 mall, and what it then needs.
- Fire NOCWhat a fire NOC is, who issues it and every state's regime.
- Which buildings require a fire NOCHeight, area and use lines for all 36 states and UTs.
- Fire NOC feesEvery published state fee schedule compared.
- Fire NOC validityHow long a certificate lasts in each state.
Words on this page, explained
Keep exploring
Fire NOC: the steps
Sources
Each source was opened and read on the date shown. How Flamekite checks its sources
- Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS-licensed copy hosted by Nagpur Municipal Corporation): National Building Code of India 2016 (SP 7:2016), Part 4: Fire and Life Safety, clauses 1.2, 2.38 and 3.1 (opens in a new tab)
- Bureau of Indian Standards (copy hosted by Goa Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services): SP 7:2026 National Building Construction Standards 2026, Part F: Fire and Life Safety (opens in a new tab)
- Bureau of Indian Standards (copy hosted by Puducherry Fire Service): National Building Code of India 2016, Part 4, Table 7: business (E) and mercantile (F) rows and Notes 4, 6, 10 to 12, 14 and 16, printed pages 46, 47 and 51 (read off the page images) (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Maharashtra (gazette copy hosted by Maharashtra Fire and Emergency Services): Maharashtra Fire Prevention and Life Safety Measures (Amendment) Act, 2023, Schedule-I: business and mercantile rows (gazette pages 24 to 26) and Notes 3(b), 8 and 15(b) (pages 33 and 34), read off the page images (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Maharashtra (gazette copy hosted by Maharashtra Fire and Emergency Services): Maharashtra Fire Prevention and Life Safety Measures Act, 2006, English gazette of 5 February 2007 (sections 3, 8, 36 to 38 read off the page images) (opens in a new tab)
- Punjab Government Gazette (Extraordinary), copy hosted by PRS Legislative Research: Punjab Govt. Gazette (Extra), 26 November 2024: the Punjab Fire and Emergency Service Act, 2024 (Punjab Act No. 12 of 2024), Notification No. 12-Leg./2024 of 27 October 2024 (opens in a new tab)
Show all 65 sourcesShow fewer
- Urban Development, Housing and Local Self Government Departments, Rajasthan: Joint order No. P.11(9)UDH/2020 Part, 14 September 2023, on the fire safety certificate and fire NOC (18-page Hindi scan) (opens in a new tab)
- Delhi Fire Service (copy of Delhi Gazette Extraordinary, Part IV): Delhi Fire Service (Amendment) Rules, 2025, notification F.No. DFS/HQ/Misc/2025/01(E-259159)/237, gazetted 26 May 2026 (opens in a new tab)
- Director General, Telangana State Disaster Response and Fire Services: Circular Memorandum Rc.No.6402/MSB/2019, 28 January 2020: conducting of fire audit in all high-rise and non-high-rise buildings; third-party certificate uploaded every January, or every January and July, by height and use, with the 13-point certificate format (read from the page images) (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Maharashtra (copy hosted by Maharashtra Fire and Emergency Services): Maharashtra Fire Prevention and Life Safety Measures (Amendment) Act, 2023 (Mah. Act No. XXIV of 2023), first published 11 May 2023 (opens in a new tab)
- Gazette of India (Bureau of Indian Standards notification): Gazette of India Extraordinary, Part III Sec 4, No. 299, 30 April 2026: SP 7:2026 established, SP 7:2016 withdrawn (Ref HQ-PUB013/1/2020-PUB-BIS (1529)) (opens in a new tab)
- Uttar Pradesh Gazette Extraordinary, 13 December 2022 (copy hosted by PRS Legislative Research): Uttar Pradesh Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2022 (U.P. Act No. 16 of 2022), English translation: sections 1, 26 to 29, 33 to 39, 45, 48, 58 and 66 (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Karnataka (PRS copy): Karnataka Fire Force (Amendment) Ordinance, 2023: section 13(3) high-rise NOC (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Manipur (PRS copy): Manipur Fire and Emergency Service Act, 2026 (Act 9 of 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Assam Gazette Extraordinary No. 427, 14 August 2026 (PRS copy of the gazette): The Assam Jan Vishwas (Amendment of Provisions) Act, 2026 (Assam Act No. XIII of 2026): Schedule item 4 amending sections 2, 20, 21 and 31 of the 2025 Act (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Bihar, Home Department notification (English copy hosted by Bihar Fire Service): Bihar Fire Service Rules, 2021: rules 14 to 27, 33, 34 and 38, Schedules C (fees), D (online NOC), E (pandals) and H (existing buildings) (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Haryana (PRS copy): Haryana Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2022 (Act 14 of 2022) (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Jharkhand (PRS copy): Jharkhand Fire Service Act, 2024 (Act 9 of 2024) (opens in a new tab)
- Directorate of State Fire Prevention Services, Gujarat (GujFireSafety CoP): Gujarat Fire Prevention and Life Safety Measures (Amendment) Rules, 2021, UDUHD notification GH/V/9 of 2021, 22 January 2021: rules 14, 21, 24, 26 and 32, Third and Fourth Schedules (opens in a new tab)
- Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai, Mumbai Fire Brigade: FB_10: risk table assigning the NOC officer by floor area and LPG cylinders (opens in a new tab)
- Gujarat Fire Safety Compliance Portal (GujFireSafety CoP): Gujarat Fire Prevention and Life Safety Measures Regulations, 2023 (fees in Annexure 8) (opens in a new tab)
- Director, Maharashtra Fire Service: Circular MFS/51/2025/64, 31 January 2025: Necessity or otherwise of renewal of fire approval (opens in a new tab)
- Uttar Pradesh Gazette Extraordinary, 18 January 2024 (copy hosted by UP Fire and Emergency Services): Uttar Pradesh Fire and Emergency Services Rules, 2024, Notification No. 181/VI-Pu-8-2024-801(1)-2023: rules 40 to 56, 65, 66 and 72, Schedules VI and VII, Forms A-4, A-8 and A-11 to A-13 (opens in a new tab)
- Seva Sindhu, Government of Karnataka: Application for No Objection Certificate (High rise Building) - Fire & Emergency: documents, fee under G.O. of 13-09-2019, 60 working days (opens in a new tab)
- Kerala Fire and Rescue Services: Fee structure, G.O.(Ms)No.272/2024/Home (opens in a new tab)
- Directorate of Local Government, Punjab (Wayback Machine copy of 21 March 2022 of the portal's fee download): Letter No. S4-DSMS-(Fire)-2021/41343 of 8 October 2021: new fees for online fire NOCs, by NBC zone, with provisional, renewal and 30-day rules (opens in a new tab)
- Fire and Emergency Services, Meghalaya: Annexure B (with continuation sheets B1 and B2) to notification HPL.179/2017/85: fees per m² and annual renewal fees for every building category (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Telangana, Home (Ser.IV) Department: G.O.Ms.No.142, Home (Ser.IV), 9 August 2016: fire precaution fee amending the Levy of Fee Rules, 2006 (opens in a new tab)
- AP State Disaster Response and Fire Services: AP Fire and Emergency Operations and Levy of Fee Rules, 2006 (G.O.Ms.306, 8 December 2006) (opens in a new tab)
- Municipal Corporation Chandigarh, Fire and Rescue Services: Office Order No. 23 of 10 February 2025: Fire Safety Certificate charges by NBC occupancy group from 1 April 2025, validity 3 years, exemptions (read from the page images) (opens in a new tab)
- Odisha Fire Service: Service details: Fire Safety Renewal Certificate (fee Rs 1 per m² residential, Rs 2 per m² non-residential; Form VI with Form III) (opens in a new tab)
- Uttar Pradesh Fire and Emergency Services: Dashboard: provisional, final and renewal applications, approvals and days to certificate (printed 24 October 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Local Self Government Department, Government of Kerala (Kerala Gazette copies): Kerala Municipality Building Rules, 2019 (G.O.(P) No.77/2019/LSGD, S.R.O. No.828/2019, 8 November 2019) with the Amendment Rules, 2020 (G.O.(P) No.57/2020/LSGD, S.R.O. No.639/2020): rule 5(4) items 12 and 13, rules 28, 29, 35, 80 and 81, Appendix L (opens in a new tab)
- Telangana Fire, Disaster Response, Emergency and Civil Defence Department: Circular Memorandum Rc.No.3455/MSB/2026, 26 September 2026: revised requirements for Fire NOCs in the context of G.O.Ms.No.95 (in force 7 October 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Telangana State Disaster Response and Fire Services Department: Circular Memorandum Rc.No.4039-2/EODB/2015, 5 March 2016: revision of the period of renewal of NOC, risk categories and random inspections (quotes section 13 of the Fire Service Act, 1999) (opens in a new tab)
- Home Department, Government of Odisha: Odisha Fire Prevention and Fire Safety (Amendment) Rules, 2019, notification No. 10573/H of 6 March 2019: rule 9(1) classes, rules 10, 13(3) and 22(5) (opens in a new tab)
- Directorate of Punjab Fire and Emergency Services, Department of Local Government (Wayback Machine copy of 5 August 2025): Fire NOC portal home: online applications, multi-block complexes, Verify NOC, downloads and helpline 1800-1800-0172 (opens in a new tab)
- Maharashtra Fire and Emergency Services: E-Approval online application: documents for Provisional and Final NOC, and the 7-working-day service line (opens in a new tab)
- Uttar Pradesh Fire and Emergency Services: Frequently asked questions (Hindi): Nivesh Mitra categories, free online application, SMS updates, helplines (opens in a new tab)
- Telangana Fire, Disaster Response, Emergency and Civil Defence Department: Online Building NOC login (Provisional and Occupancy NOC) (opens in a new tab)
- Gujarat State Fire Prevention Services: FSCOP citizen login: FSPA, FSCA, FSCR, inspections and mock drills (opens in a new tab)
- Bihar Fire Service: Online Fire NOC and Audit Portal: home page (menus, State Fire Office contacts and helpline) (opens in a new tab)
- Local Self Government Department, Rajasthan: Fire service: Fire NOC registration and certificate verification (nodal officer and helpline) (opens in a new tab)
- Delhi Fire Service: Renewal of Fire Safety Certificate (FSC/NOC) (last updated 23/10/2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai, Mumbai Fire Brigade: Fire SOP, single window: online trade NOC under section 394 of the MMC Act (opens in a new tab)
- Guidance Tamil Nadu (Tamil Nadu Single Window Portal): TNSWP home: TNFRS services, citizen registration, Verify Certificate, NSWS integration, toll-free helpline (opens in a new tab)
- Local Self Government Department, Government of Kerala (Kerala Gazette Extraordinary No. 3808): Kerala Municipality Building (Amendment) Rules, 2025 (G.O.(P) No.53/2025/LSGD, S.R.O. No.1240/2025, 29 October 2025) and Kerala Panchayat Building (Amendment) Rules, 2025 (G.O.(P) No.54/2025/LSGD): rule 5(4) restated, rules 35 and 36 (opens in a new tab)
- Gazette of India, Ministry of Home Affairs (copy hosted by TaxHeal): S.O. 2264(E) of 6 May 2026: the Haryana Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2022 extended to the Union territory of Chandigarh, with modifications (opens in a new tab)
- Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly (PRS copy of AP Gazette Part IV-A No. 12, 4 March 2026): Andhra Pradesh Fire Service (Amendment) Bill, 2026 (L.A. Bill No. 12 of 2026): new section 13 thresholds, 21-day and 30-day timelines (opens in a new tab)
- Home Department, Chhattisgarh (on the CG Fire NOC portal): Notification under section 14(1), 29 November 2022: buildings that need a fire NOC (opens in a new tab)
- Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services, Nagaland: Nagaland Fire and Emergency Services Act (Act No. 5 of 2023), Nagaland Gazette, 31 August 2023 (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Sikkim, Sikkim Government Gazette Extraordinary No. 226, 16 June 2023: The Sikkim Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2023 (Act No. 04 of 2023): Law and Parliamentary Affairs Department notification No. 11(656)L&PAD/2021/13, 16 June 2023, assent 8 June 2023 (opens in a new tab)
- Assam Gazette Extraordinary No. 811, 24 December 2025 (PRS copy of the gazette): The Assam Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2025 (Assam Act No. LIII of 2025), notification No. LGL.52/2025/3: sections 1 to 67 and Schedule I (opens in a new tab)
- Gazette of Meghalaya No. 12, Part IIA, 25 March 2021 (copy hosted by the Urban Affairs Department): Meghalaya Building Bye-Laws, 2021 (No. UAU.73/2016/Pt/402 of 9 March 2021): A2.30 high-rise, A2.59 special buildings, A4.1.3, A10 occupancy and fire clearance, C11 (opens in a new tab)
- Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services, Tripura: Tripura Fire Safety Rules, 2026 (Tripura Gazette, 2 June 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Department of Fire and Emergency Services, Government of West Bengal: Notification 1930/FES/O/MISC-08/2023, 1 March 2024: 12 occupancies moved to yearly self-certification (with forwarding letter 1961 of 5 March 2024) (opens in a new tab)
- Gazette of India Extraordinary (CG-DL-E-02062026-273069): Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Fire and Emergency Service Regulation, 2026 (No. 6 of 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services, Goa: Citizen's Charter, December 2024: 17 fire stations, 3 zones, 1,106 posts, the section 13 notification 3/5/97-HD(G) Part/3934 of 17 December 2014 with Annexures I and II, the 2018 Annexure III on shacks and guest houses, and the 2009 fee rules (opens in a new tab)
- Casemine (secondary copy of the Act text): Delhi Fire Service Act, 2007: sections 29, 31, 37, 44, 49, 52 and 54 (opens in a new tab)
- ThePrint (PTI), 9 July 2026: Lucknow fire: LDA court reserves order on demolition of building after final hearing (opens in a new tab)
- ThePrint (PTI): Rajasthan SHRC directs Jaipur admin to ensure adequate fire hydrants, water availability across city (22 September 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Free Press Journal: Mumbai fire safety alert: BMC launches citywide hotel inspection drive after Delhi blaze (5 June 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Deccan Chronicle: Delhi orders fire safety audit after guesthouse tragedy (June 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- PropNewsTime: Ludhiana authorities give 30 days to secure fire safety NOC (updated 4 January 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Wikipedia (secondary): Delhi Fire Service: major incidents (Anaj Mandi 2019, Mundka 2022) (opens in a new tab)