Skip to content
Flamekite
ContactFree fire NOC check

ResourcesGlossary 7 min read

Fire safety glossary: the words in India's fire laws, defined

Updated By Flamekite Editorial DeskFacts checked against official sources on

Free fire NOC checkDo I need a fire NOC?

Quick answer

India's 36 states and union territories use different words for the same fire papers: a fire NOC in one state is a Fire Safety Certificate, a Fire Safety Recommendation or a Final NOC in another. This glossary defines each term from the act, rule or code that uses it, and says where the meaning changes by state.

Each term below links to its own page with the rule, the numbers and the common mix-ups, or to the state page that holds it.

Jurisdictions with their own words
36
28 states and 8 union territories
In numbers
High-rise line in NBCS 2026
24 m
NBC 2016 used 15 m
In numbers
Assam certificate term
Until cancelled
Since 24 December 2025
What changed

The fire safety glossary at a glance

What this glossary covers on 24 October 2026.
WhatThe ruleSource
Term pages8 in depth, each with the rule, the numbers and the state differencesNot stated
Short definitions on this page12, each citing the instrument that uses the wordNot stated
Jurisdictions compared36 states and union territoriesNot stated
National standardNBCS 2026 (SP 7:2026), which replaced NBC 2016 on 30 April 2026Gazette of India
Written byThe Flamekite Editorial Desk, from official sources onlyNot stated

8 fire safety terms explained in depth

Start with the term on your notice, drawing or certificate.

  • Approval

    Fire NOC full form

    No Objection Certificate, and the names 28 state and UT laws give the same paper.

  • Person

    Fire safety officer

    The officer a building owner must appoint under several state acts, and who qualifies.

  • Design

    High-rise building

    Where each state draws the line: 15 m, 16.5 m, 21 m or 24 m.

  • Design

    Occupancy classification

    The building groups that decide which fire rules apply: A to J in NBC 2016, A to K in NBCS 2026.

  • Design

    Refuge area

    The open floor space a tall building keeps for people waiting to be rescued.

  • Design

    Fire tower

    The firefighting shaft: a protected stair, lobby and fireman's lift, built for fire fighters and also an exit.

  • System

    Wet riser

    The charged pipe that brings water to every floor, and how it differs from a dry riser.

  • Hazard

    Fire load

    The heat a room's contents can release per m², and why it sets the hazard class.

12 more fire safety terms in short

Each word as the instrument that uses it defines it.

Provisional NOC
Clearance of the fire drawings before construction; Mizoram caps it at 2 years, renewable for 2 more. Mizoram Home Dept
Fire Safety Recommendation
The plan-stage approval in West Bengal, Odisha, Tripura and Assam, issued before construction starts. West Bengal Fire and Emergency Services
Fire Safety Certificate (FSC)
The Model Bill 2019 name for the final certificate, due within 1 month of a complete application. DGFS, MHA
Form A (Maharashtra)
A licensed agency's certificate that fire systems are installed, signed by a rule 12-qualified person since 2025. Amendment Rules 2025
Form B (Maharashtra)
The maintenance certificate filed every January and July. MFS Form B guidelines
Form-B (Tripura)
A different paper with the same letter: the third-party certificate for a yearly renewal, filed at least 2 weeks before expiry. High Court of Tripura/TFES/2025)
Self-declaration
The owner's statement that systems still work; Goa wants it every year on Rs 100 stamp paper. Government of Goa, Official Gazette Series II No. 14, 3 July 2025
Third-party fire audit
An inspection by an empanelled auditor, such as Telangana's under G.O.Ms.No.15 of 20 January 2026. G.O.Ms.No.15
Valid until cancelled
A certificate with no end date; Assam's 2025 Act, section 23(1), makes its certificate last until the authority cancels it. Assam Act LIII of 2025
Deemed NOC
Approval treated as given when the fire service does not decide in time; Manipur's 2024 bye-laws deem it after 15 days. Manipur UBBL 2024
Fire tax
A surcharge on property tax for fire services; Bihar's rule 26 sets it at 2.5%. Bihar Rules 2021
Spot Fire Licence
West Bengal's auto-generated licence for very small low-hazard premises, valid 5 years. WB F&ES order 1590

One certificate, 9 states, different names

The same two papers, the plan-stage approval and the final certificate, go by different names. Use your state's word when you apply.

Before constructionAfter construction
Assam Assam Act LIII of 2025Fire Safety RecommendationFire Safety Certificate, Form G
Bihar Bihar Rules 2021Provisional NOC, issued on Form EFinal NOC, Form J
Gujarat Gujarat Fire Safety Compliance PortalFire Safety Plan Approval (FSPA)Fire Safety Certificate (FSCA), renewed as FSCR
Haryana Haryana GazetteApproval of the fire fighting schemeFire Safety Certificate
Jharkhand Jharkhand Single WindowAdvisoryNOC, then renewal
Kerala Kerala Fire and RescueSite NOCFinal NOC
Madhya Pradesh MP e-Nagar Palika manualFire Plan Approval, 1 yearFire Safety Certificate, 3 years
Odisha Order 50908 of 2019Fire Safety Recommendation, Form-IIFire Safety Certificate, Form-V
Punjab Punjab GazetteProvisional Fire Safety CertificateFinal Fire Safety Certificate

Fire safety words in numbers

Fire safety terms that changed meaning, 2025 to 2026

A word on an old certificate may not mean what it means today.

  1. 3 July 2025

    Goa: every NOC becomes valid 5 years, with a yearly self-declaration. Government of Goa, Official Gazette Series II No. 14, 3 July 2025

  2. 24 July 2025

    Meghalaya: a fire NOC becomes valid 3 years from issue, not yearly. Gazette 14 Aug 2025

  3. 24 December 2025

    Assam: the NOC is renamed Fire Safety Certificate and made valid until cancelled. Assam Act LIII of 2025

  4. 30 April 2026

    "NBC" now means a withdrawn code: BIS replaces NBC 2016 with NBCS 2026. Gazette of India

  5. 6 May 2026

    Chandigarh's certificate moves to the Haryana Act's terms, valid 5 years. Gazette of India

  6. 14 August 2026

    Assam's law names the "National Building Construction Standards", the first state fire law to do so. Assam Act XIII of 2026

  7. 7 October 2026

    Telangana: a residential high-rise for fire NOCs now starts at 24 m, not 18 m. TGFD circular 3455

Which fire safety term is on your paper? 5 cases

Match the word on your document to what it lets you do.

  1. If It says Provisional, Advisory, Site NOC or Recommendation

    It clears the drawings only. You still need the final certificate after the systems are installed and inspected. Fire NOC guide

  2. If It says Final NOC, Fire Safety Certificate or FSC

    It lets the building be occupied for the term it prints, from 1 year to until cancelled depending on the state. Validity, all states

  3. If It says Form A or Form B and you are in Maharashtra

    It is an agency's installation (A) or half-yearly maintenance (B) certificate, not the fire service's NOC. MFS Form B guidelines

  4. If It is a self-declaration or an audit report

    It keeps an existing certificate alive between renewals; missing one can cost the certificate in states such as Chhattisgarh. CG Home Dept

  5. If It cites NBC 2016

    The code was withdrawn on 30 April 2026; your state's own rules decide which edition still applies. National Building Code 2026

4 fire safety word mix-ups, corrected

  • You may have read

    A fire NOC and a Fire Safety Certificate are always different papers.

    Myth

    What the sources say

    In Assam, Punjab and Haryana the final approval is the Fire Safety Certificate; it is what other states call the final NOC. Punjab Gazette

  • You may have read

    A high-rise means the same height everywhere.

    Myth

    What the sources say

    NBCS 2026 says 24 m, Telangana uses 24 m for apartments, Haryana 16.5 m for homes and Kerala 16 m. TGFD circular 3455

  • You may have read

    Form B is the same document in every state.

    Myth

    What the sources say

    Maharashtra's Form B is a maintenance certificate; Tripura's Form-B is a third-party renewal certificate. High Court of Tripura/TFES/2025)

  • You may have read

    "Valid until cancelled" means no checks.

    Myth

    What the sources say

    Assam's 2025 Act allows periodic and random inspections and cancellation on any breach. Assam Act LIII of 2025

Using fire safety terms correctly: 3 dos and 3 don'ts

Do

  • Use your state's own name for the paper when you apply or write to the fire service.
  • Quote the instrument and its date with any term, such as "Assam Act LIII of 2025, section 23". Assam Act LIII of 2025
  • Check whether a term on an old certificate still means the same after a 2025 or 2026 change.

Don’t

  • Don't treat a provisional or plan-stage approval as permission to occupy.
  • Don't assume NBC 2016 terms still bind after its withdrawal on 30 April 2026. Gazette of India
  • Don't copy definitions from a consultant's guide without checking the state's act.

5 terms to check before you sign a fire contract

Ask your consultant or agency to state each one in writing.

  • Which paper they will obtain: the plan-stage approval, the final certificate, or both
  • The term the certificate will carry, in years, under your state's current rule
  • Which filings fall due between renewals: self-declarations, audits or Form B
  • Which code they design to: your state's named edition, NBC 2016 or NBCS 2026
  • Whether your building is a high-rise or special building under your state's line, in metres and m²

Questions about Glossary

What is the full form of fire NOC?

No Objection Certificate. Many states now call the final paper a Fire Safety Certificate; the fire NOC full form page lists every name in use.

Is a Fire Safety Certificate the same as a fire NOC?

In most states it is the final approval that other states call the final NOC. The plan-stage approval has its own name, such as Provisional NOC or Fire Safety Recommendation.

Why do fire safety terms differ between states?

Fire services are a state subject, so each of the 36 states and union territories writes its own act and rules, and with them its own words.

Which code defines high-rise and occupancy groups now?

BIS replaced NBC 2016 with NBCS 2026 on 30 April 2026, but your state's rules decide which edition applies to your building.

Keep reading

Sources

Each source was opened and read on the date shown. How Flamekite checks its sources

  1. Gazette of India (Bureau of Indian Standards notification): Gazette of India Extraordinary, Part III Sec 4, No. 299, 30 April 2026: SP 7:2026 established, SP 7:2016 withdrawn (Ref HQ-PUB013/1/2020-PUB-BIS (1529)) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  2. Home Department, Government of Mizoram (copy on the Mizoram Fire and Emergency Services site): Notification No. B-20011/2/2026-HM(F&ES), 20 August 2026: Mizoram Fire and Emergency Services (Superintendence and Control of the Fire Force and Fire Safety and Prevention) (Amendment) Rules, 2026, substituting Rule 57 and inserting Rules 57(A) and 57(B) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  3. West Bengal Fire and Emergency Services: E-services: Fire Safety Recommendation, Fire Safety Certificate, renewal, fire licence (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  4. Directorate General Fire Services, Civil Defence and Home Guards (MHA): Revised Model Fire and Emergency Service Bill, 2019 (opens in a new tab)checked 26 October 2026
  5. Urban Development Department, Government of Maharashtra (copy hosted by MFS): Maharashtra Fire Prevention and Life Safety Measures (Amendment) Rules, 2025, Notification No. MFS-2023/C.R.370/UD-14, 12 June 2025 (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  6. Maharashtra Fire and Emergency Services: Guidelines for Form B, Annexure A: to be followed by licensed agencies issuing Form B under section 3(3) and rule 4(2) (circular of 7 July 2026) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
Show all 28 sourcesShow fewer
  1. High Court of Tripura (copy with the 2025 amendments and Home notice F.3-8(NOC)/TFES/2025): Tripura Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2022, section 26(C) and renewal lapse fee (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  2. Government of Goa, Official Gazette Series II No. 14, 3 July 2025: Home Department notification 3/14/2024-HD(G)/1652, 23 June 2025: 5-year fire NOC validity (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  3. Government of Telangana, Home (Services.IV) Department: G.O.Ms.No.15, 20 January 2026: empanelment of Third-Party Fire and Life Safety Auditors and Fire and Life Safety System Integrators (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  4. Assam Gazette Extraordinary No. 811, 24 December 2025 (PRS copy of the gazette): The Assam Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2025 (Assam Act No. LIII of 2025), notification No. LGL.52/2025/3: sections 1 to 67 and Schedule I (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  5. Manipur Gazette Extraordinary No. 253, 5 December 2024 (Town Planning Department copy): The Model Manipur Unified Building Bye-Laws, 2024, notification No. BBL-101/1/2024-MAHUD-MAHUD-Part(1) of 4 December 2024: bye-laws 6, 7, 8, 9, 51, 65 and 85 to 89 (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  6. Government of Bihar, Home Department notification (English copy hosted by Bihar Fire Service): Bihar Fire Service Rules, 2021: rules 14 to 27, 33, 34 and 38, Schedules C (fees), D (online NOC), E (pandals) and H (existing buildings) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  7. Department of Fire and Emergency Services, Government of West Bengal: Order No. 1590/FES-99/101/2025, 9 December 2025: Spot Fire Licence, auto-generated, valid 5 years, for very small low-hazard premises (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  8. Gujarat Fire Safety Compliance Portal (GujFireSafety CoP): Gujarat Fire Prevention and Life Safety Measures Regulations, 2023 (fees in Annexure 8) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  9. Haryana Government Gazette, hosted by the Revenue and Disaster Management Department: Haryana Government Gazette Extraordinary No. 65-2022/Ext., 8 April 2022: the Haryana Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2022 (Haryana Act No. 14 of 2022), Notification No. Leg. 14/2022 (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  10. Government of Jharkhand, Single Window Clearance System: Directorate of Fire Service: Advisory for Fire Safety (Pre Construction), Fire NoC before Occupancy Certificate and Renewal of fire NOC, each with a 30-day timeline (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  11. Kerala Fire and Rescue Services: KFRS procedures: mandatory documents for site NOC, completion NOC and renewal (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  12. Urban Administration and Development Department, Madhya Pradesh (e-Nagar Palika): User manual, citizen side: Fire Safety Certificate, version 1.0 (15 November 2025, in force from 30 May 2025) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  13. Home Department, Government of Odisha: Order No. 50908 of 19 November 2019: procedure for issue and renewal of Fire Safety Certificates and Fire Safety Recommendations (issuing officer, validity, inspecting team and time limit by building type) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  14. Punjab Government Gazette (Extraordinary), copy hosted by PRS Legislative Research: Punjab Govt. Gazette (Extra), 26 November 2024: the Punjab Fire and Emergency Service Act, 2024 (Punjab Act No. 12 of 2024), Notification No. 12-Leg./2024 of 27 October 2024 (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  15. Mizoram Fire and Emergency Services: Home Department notification G/262/2026-HM (F&ES), 6 May 2026: rate of NOC fees (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  16. Municipal Corporation Chandigarh, Fire and Rescue Services: Office Order No. 23 of 10 February 2025: Fire Safety Certificate charges by NBC occupancy group from 1 April 2025, validity 3 years, exemptions (read from the page images) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  17. EoDB Arunachal Pradesh single window (Department of Finance, Planning and Investment): Services: Fire and Emergency Services: Application for Fire Safety Certificate, NOC prior to construction, and Renewal of Fire Safety Certificate, with each service's requirements (documents, no fee, 15 days) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  18. Gazette of Meghalaya No. 33, Part IIA, 14 August 2025: Home (Police) notification No. HPL.36/2019/212 of 24 July 2025: Fire NOC and Fire Clearance Certificate valid 3 years from issue; random or surprise inspections; suspension or revocation (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  19. Gazette of India, Ministry of Home Affairs (copy hosted by TaxHeal): S.O. 2264(E) of 6 May 2026: the Haryana Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2022 extended to the Union territory of Chandigarh, with modifications (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  20. Assam Gazette Extraordinary No. 427, 14 August 2026 (PRS copy of the gazette): The Assam Jan Vishwas (Amendment of Provisions) Act, 2026 (Assam Act No. XIII of 2026): Schedule item 4 amending sections 2, 20, 21 and 31 of the 2025 Act (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  21. Telangana Fire, Disaster Response, Emergency and Civil Defence Department: Circular Memorandum Rc.No.3455/MSB/2026, 26 September 2026: revised requirements for Fire NOCs in the context of G.O.Ms.No.95 (in force 7 October 2026) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  22. Home Department, Chhattisgarh (on the CG Fire NOC portal): Chhattisgarh Fire and Emergency Services (Amendment) Rules, 2025, notified 24 November 2025: Rules 37A and 37B, third-party auditor certificate every January and July (Hindi) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026