Fire NOC for a homestay or B&B: the state lines, the scheme rules and the fire kit
Updated By Flamekite Editorial DeskFacts checked against official sources on
Quick answer
Most small homestays sit below the fire NOC line of 12 to 21 m or 1,000 m². Goa and Shillong want a NOC for every homestay; other states ask for extinguishers. Goa's Tourism order of 13 January 2026 lists a fire NOC for every homestay registration and renewal, and Meghalaya's notification of 26 September 2024 does the same for Shillong.
Elsewhere the homestay scheme sets the fire kit: one fire appliance per room in Uttarakhand, basic fire equipment in Himachal, fire-department-approved equipment in Uttar Pradesh, an extinguisher for a Gold unit under the Ministry of Tourism's standards. The building still needs a NOC once it crosses its state's height or area line, such as 12 m in Uttarakhand or 1,000 m² in Kerala.
- States that want a NOC for every homestay
- Goa and Shillong
- Goa since 13 January 2026; Shillong since 26 September 2024
- The 8 tests
- Uttarakhand homestay fire kit
- 1 appliance per room
- Rule 4(7), notification 531 of 5 June 2026
- Kit by state
- Family dwelling exempt from fire norms
- Up to 20 persons
- Ladakh Schedule I, sub-division A2
- The A-1 and A-2 line
Free, on WhatsApp. Or set a renewal reminder
Homestay fire NOC at a glance: 10 facts
| What | The rule | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Who issues a fire NOC | The state fire service; the Tourism Department registers the homestay and, in some states, asks for the NOC first | Goa Tourism order |
| How fire rules class a homestay | Lodging house (A1), which Ladakh's 2025 Schedule I says "includes inns, clubs, motels, guest houses and home stays" | Gazette notification S.O. 140 |
| The family-dwelling exemption | A one or two-family dwelling sleeping 20 or fewer, with at most 3 per rented room, is "exempted from fire safety norms" in Ladakh's Schedule I | Gazette notification S.O. 140 |
| Goa | "Valid NOC from Directorate of Fire & Emergency Services" is document 1 for a homestay's registration or renewal on Goa Online | Goa Online TOU03 |
| Shillong | Hotels, lodges, homestays and resorts in Shillong city and adjoining areas need a compulsory fire NOC (notification HPL.127/2023/43, 26 September 2024) | HPL.127/2023/43 |
| Uttarakhand | One fire appliance per room (rule 4(7)); a homestay or B&B has at most 8 rooms and 24 beds | UTDB rules 2026 |
| Uttar Pradesh | Fire safety equipment approved by the fire department is mandatory (para 4.1.4), and the District Fire Officer sits on the district committee | UP Tourism G.O. |
| Himachal Pradesh | "Basic fire equipments" in the units (rule 8(9)); none of the 7 registration documents is a fire NOC | HP Home Stay Rules |
| Ministry of Tourism standards | Fire extinguisher or firefighting system mandatory for Gold, desirable for Silver; smoke or heat detectors desirable for both (items 37 and 35) | Ministry of Tourism |
| Kerala | No fire item in the classification; under the building rules a homestay above 300 m² self-declares on Appendix L and needs a NOC above 1,000 m² or 15 m | KMBR amendment 2025 |
Homestay schemes in 11 states and the Centre: what each says on fire
| Option | Scheme and date | Size cap | Fire condition in the scheme | Fire NOC asked by Tourism | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Goa | Goa Registration of Tourist Trade Act 1982; Tourism order of 13 January 2026 | Not stated on the TOU03 page | Form XXIII asks for fire-fighting or hydrant details "if any"; a fire self-declaration form is also offered | Yes, document 1, new and renewal | Goa Online TOU03 |
| Meghalaya (Shillong) | Home (Police) notification of 26 September 2024 | Any size | Not a tourism rule: the fire service's own notification | The fire service requires it in Shillong and adjoining areas | HPL.127/2023/43 |
| Uttarakhand | Tourism and Travel Business Registration Rules 2026, No. 531 of 5 June 2026 | 8 rooms, 24 beds | One fire appliance per room (rule 4(7)) | No | UTDB rules 2026 |
| Himachal Pradesh | Home Stay Rules 2025, 25 June 2025 | 6 rooms, 12 beds | Basic fire equipment (rule 8(9)) | No, not among the 7 documents | HP Home Stay Rules |
| Uttar Pradesh | Homestay and B&B Policy 2025, G.O. of 9 June 2025, amended to 16 June 2026 | 8 rooms, 16 beds since 16 June 2026 | Fire safety equipment approved by the fire department (para 4.1.4) | No; the District Fire Officer or a nominee sits on the inspecting committee | UP Tourism G.O. |
| Karnataka | Guidelines for Registration of Homestay Establishments 2025, G.O. TOR 133 TDO 2025 | 6 rooms, 12 beds | Fire safety "followed without fail" (condition 9); fire authority contacts displayed (condition 17) | No | Karnataka Tourism G.O. |
| Kerala | Classification, G.O.(Ms) 324/15/TSM of 21 December 2015 and 03/2020/TSM | 6 rooms | None in the guidelines or the marked checklist | No | Kerala Tourism G.O. |
| Sikkim | Registration of Tourist Trade Rules 2025, Form IV | 1 to 5 rooms | None on the homestay form; a B&B must meet local fire regulations (rule 29) | No for a homestay; the B&B form asks for a fire NOC | Sikkim Tourist Trade Rules |
| Ladakh | Homestay Policy 2023, notification of 22 October 2023 | 1 to 6 rooms | Application asks for fire equipment details "if any" | No | Ladakh Tourism |
| Delhi (draft) | Draft Delhi Bed & Breakfast Policy 2026, circular of 26 May 2026 | 8 rooms, 16 beds | Delhi Fire Service norms; an ABC fire extinguisher in Gold and Silver | Not stated; the policy was a draft for comment | Delhi Tourism draft |
| Tamil Nadu | G.O.(Ms) No.242 of 7 July 2026, amending G.O.Ms.105 of 2022 | Homestay 6 rooms (12 beds), B&B 8 rooms (16 beds) | None in the 2026 amendment; the 2022 base guidelines were not read | Not confirmed | TN G.O.(Ms) 242 |
| Centre: Incredible India B&B and Homestay | Ministry of Tourism standards, 10 December 2018; corrigendum 3 January 2019 | 6 rooms, 12 beds | Extinguisher mandatory for Gold, desirable for Silver; detectors desirable | No; the application asks for fire-fighting details "if any" | Ministry of Tourism |
Fire safety for a homestay in 8 steps, from the tape measure to renewal
Measure the building, not the rooms
Note the height from ground to the top floor, the number of storeys and the built-up area of all floors together. Most state lines are 12 m, 15 m, 21 m, 500 m² or 1,000 m²; only Ladakh's kit tables and Goa's officer allocation count rooms.
Count the beds and decide A-1 or A-2
A family dwelling sleeping 20 or fewer, with at most 3 guests a rented room, is A-2 under NBC-style schedules such as Ladakh's and Meghalaya's fee table. More, or run as lodging, is A-1.
Read your state's homestay scheme for its fire clause
Use the scheme table above: Goa and Shillong need a NOC at any size, Uttarakhand one appliance per room, Uttar Pradesh fire-department-approved equipment, Himachal basic equipment.
Fit the kit before the inspection
Fit the extinguishers your scheme names (one appliance per room in Uttarakhand, 1 or 2 by area in Goa), keep exits clear, and display the fire service's number for guests, as Karnataka requires.
Apply for the fire NOC where the line or the scheme asks
In Goa through the Initial NOC service on Goa Online; in Shillong through Invest Meghalaya. Below every line, keep the scheme's self-declaration or equipment proof instead.
Register with Tourism and upload the fire paper
Upload the NOC, the self-declaration or the equipment photographs the scheme asks for, with the ownership and ID documents.
Keep the escape route and the records
Do not let more rooms than registered, keep exits unlocked while guests are in, and keep extinguisher service tags and a drill note.
Diary both renewals
Tourism registration and the fire NOC expire on different dates: for example 3 years for UP registration and 5 years for a Goa fire NOC.
Homestay or family dwelling? The A-1 and A-2 line in fire rules
Fire rules built on the National Building Code split homes that take guests into two classes. Which one a homestay falls in decides whether fire norms apply at all.
Word for word
If rooms in a private dwelling are rented to outsiders, these shall be for accommodating not more than three persons per room. If sleeping accommodation for more than 20 persons is provided in any one residential building, it shall be classified as a building in Subdivision A1 or Subdivision A4 as the case may be. The subdivision is exempted from fire safety norms.
The same Schedule names home stays in A1, lodging and rooming houses, with inns, clubs, motels and guest houses, and sizes their kit by rooms: extinguishers at any size, a first-aid hose reel above 15 rooms, a manual alarm above 30 rooms in buildings of more than 2 storeys. Meghalaya's fee schedule uses the same split: A2 dwellings sleeping 20 or fewer are "not applicable", A1 lodging up to 40 persons pays ₹4 per m². Most state Acts do not spell the split out. Flamekite's reading: a fire officer will treat a family home letting 2 or 3 rooms as a dwelling, and a house run for guests, or one sleeping more than 20, as lodging.
Does your homestay need a fire NOC? 8 tests in order
Run the tests from the top; the first one that fits gives the answer.
If The homestay is in Goa and you register or renew with the Tourism Department
Yes. Since the order of 13 January 2026 a valid DFES NOC is document 1 on Goa Online, for new registration and renewal. Fire NOC Goa Goa Tourism order
If The homestay is in Shillong city or its adjoining areas
Yes, at any size, under Meghalaya's notification HPL.127/2023/43 of 26 September 2024. Fire NOC Meghalaya HPL.127/2023/43
If The building is 12 m or taller in Uttarakhand
Yes: section 15(4), as amended by Act 06 of 2022, covers residential buildings of 12 m or more. Delhi and Himachal draw their guest-house lines just above 12 m; see the table below. Fire NOC Uttarakhand Uttarakhand Gazette 2022
If The building is above 1,000 m² or 15 m in Kerala, or 300 to 1,000 m²
Above the line, a Kerala Fire and Rescue Services NOC; between 300 and 1,000 m² up to 15 m, the Appendix L self-declaration with an engineer's or architect's certificate. Fire NOC Kerala KMBR amendment 2025
If The building is 21 m or taller in Karnataka
Yes: section 13(3) catches every high-rise of 21 m or more, whatever its use. Below it, condition 9 of the homestay guidelines still asks for fire safety. Fire NOC Karnataka Government of Karnataka
If The homestay is in Uttar Pradesh and under 15 m
Rule 42 exempts residential buildings below 15 m but leaves hotels and guest houses out. The policy calls registered units wholly residential; ask the District Fire Officer which reading applies. Fire NOC UP UP Rules 2024
If The home sleeps 20 or fewer and lets at most 3 guests a room, in a state on NBC-style schedules
A-2 dwelling: exempt from fire norms in Ladakh's Schedule I. Keep the scheme's kit anyway; the scheme is a separate duty. Fire NOC Ladakh Gazette notification S.O. 140
If None of the above
No NOC is likely, but the tourism scheme's fire kit still applies. Check the building against your state's line in the table below or with the free checker. Do I need a fire NOC? UTDB rules 2026
Fire NOC lines a homestay building can cross, in 13 states
The line comes from the state's fire law, not the tourism scheme. The right column works one typical homestay through each: ground plus 1, about 7 m, 400 m² built-up, 6 rooms, 12 beds.
| Line in the state's fire law | A G+1, 400 m², 6-room homestay | |
|---|---|---|
| Goa DFES Goa charter | Hotels, restaurants and public places at any size, and buildings over 15 m (2014 section 13 notification) | Fire NOC needed for Tourism registration since 13 January 2026 |
| Meghalaya (Shillong) HPL.127/2023/43 | Every hotel, lodge, homestay and resort in Shillong and adjoining areas | Fire NOC needed; valid 3 years |
| Kerala KMBR amendment 2025 | Over 1,000 m² built-up or over 15 m (rule 5(4)); 300 to 1,000 m² self-declare | No NOC; Appendix L self-declaration, as 400 m² is above 300 m² |
| Uttarakhand Uttarakhand Gazette 2022 | Residential buildings of 12 m or more (section 15(4)); listed uses above 12 m and 500 m² | No NOC at 7 m; 6 fire appliances, one per room |
| Himachal Pradesh HP Home notification | Hotels and guest houses above 12 m or ground plus 3 (2019 notification); any building above 15 m (section 15-A) | No NOC; basic fire equipment under the Home Stay Rules |
| Delhi DFS | Hotels and guest houses above 12 m or 4 storeys; residential above 15 m or 5 storeys (Rule 27) | No Fire Safety Certificate at G+1 |
| Uttar Pradesh UP Rules 2024 | Over 15 m, special occupancies, mixed use over 500 m² (section 26(3)); Rule 42 exempts homes below 15 m, not hotels | Not settled: residential or guest house; fire-department-approved kit either way |
| Karnataka Government of Karnataka | High-rise of 21 m or more, any use (section 13(3)) | No NOC; fire safety under condition 9 |
| Sikkim Sikkim Gazette 226 | Above 15 m; listed non-residential classes at any size (section 24(3)) | No NOC found for a village homestay |
| Ladakh Gazette notification S.O. 140 | A1 lodging, home stays included: kit by rooms up to 15 m; A2 dwelling of 20 or fewer exempt | A1 if run as lodging: extinguishers, 1.25 m stair, exit signs, emergency lights |
| Jammu and Kashmir J&K Gazette | Hotels (C3, C4) at any size under bye-law 2.18(2); C2 guest houses not named | Not confirmed for a homestay |
| Tamil Nadu TNCDBR 2019 | Over 18.30 m for the Director's NOC (TNCDBR rule 39(11)(iii)) | No NOC at G+1 |
| Telangana TSDRFS circular 2016 | Lodging and rooming houses above 18 m (2016 renewal circular) | No NOC at G+1 |
Heights are measured as each instrument says, usually from ground level to the top floor's terrace. A homestay inside a taller apartment block takes the block's line, not its own. The worked column is Flamekite's reading, not an officer's decision.
Fire safety equipment homestay schemes require, item by item
What each scheme or fire rule names for a small homestay, as written. Where two apply, fit both.
- Uttarakhand: "protected with fire safety equipment (one fire appliance per room)", rule 4(7) of the 2026 Rules: 8 appliances for an 8-room homestay. UTDB rules 2026
- Himachal Pradesh: "basic fire equipments in the Home Stay units", rule 8(9), also mandatory item 16 of Annexure III, part A. HP Home Stay Rules
- Uttar Pradesh: fire safety equipment approved by the fire department, and at least 3 working CCTV cameras keeping 15 days of recording since 7 January 2026 (90 days before). UP Tourism G.O.
- Ministry of Tourism, item 37: fire extinguisher or firefighting system, mandatory for Gold, desirable for Silver. Item 35: smoke or heat detectors, desirable for both. Ministry of Tourism
- Delhi draft policy: an ABC-type fire extinguisher and a first aid kit under Safety and Security, in both the Gold and the Silver category. Delhi Tourism draft
- Goa, Annexure III: 1 ABC dry powder extinguisher of 4 or 6 kg or 1 CO2 extinguisher of 4.5 kg to IS 2190 up to 50 m²; 2 from 50 to 100 m²; 1 more with a commercial LPG cylinder. DFES Goa charter
- Karnataka: fire safety measures "followed without fail" (condition 9), and fire authority contacts displayed and given to guests at check-in (condition 17). Karnataka Tourism G.O.
- Ladakh A1 lodging up to 15 rooms: extinguishers, a staircase at least 1.25 m wide, photoluminescent exit signs within 30 m, emergency lights on the escape route and a yearly fire drill. Gazette notification S.O. 140
- Every application form read (Goa Form XXIII, Himachal Annexure I, Ladakh Annexure 1, the Ministry's Annexure I) asks for fire-fighting equipment or hydrant details "if any": fill it in, with photographs. Goa Form XXIII
Four ways a homestay's fire safety gets signed off
Who looks at the fire kit differs by state. A homestay meets 1 of these 4 routes, sometimes 2.
Full NOC
A fire service NOC after inspection
Goa for every Tourism registration since 13 January 2026, Shillong since 26 September 2024, and any homestay building above its state's line. Goa Tourism order
Self-declaration
A declaration filed with the fire service or the licence
Goa's Annexure III declaration on ₹100 stamp paper for premises up to 100 m²; Kerala's Appendix L for 300 to 1,000 m² up to 15 m, copied to the fire station. KMBR amendment 2025
Inspection by a committee
Tourism inspects, with or without a fire officer
Uttar Pradesh's district committee includes the District Fire Officer or a nominee. The Ministry of Tourism's Regional Classification Committee has no fire member: Indiatourism, IATO, TAAI, an IHM and State Tourism. UP Tourism G.O.
Equipment only
The scheme names the kit and Tourism checks it
Uttarakhand's one appliance per room, Himachal's basic fire equipment and Karnataka's condition 9, checked at the registration inspection. UTDB rules 2026
Uttar Pradesh homestay registration and the District Fire Officer: 6 stops
Uttar Pradesh is the one scheme read that puts a fire officer on the inspecting committee. The route under the 2025 policy as amended to 16 June 2026:
1. Apply on the UP Tourism portal
Upload ID, ownership proof, a self-declaration affidavit and the police NOC (para 4.1.6). The local-body NOC in Form V was suspended on 7 January 2026. UP Tourism G.O.
2. Tourism Directorate review
The Directorate checks the file and forwards it online to the district office (para 4.2.1). UP Tourism G.O.
3. District committee inspection
Chaired by the District Magistrate, with the Superintendent of Police, the zonal or executive officer, the District Fire Officer or a nominee, and the senior tourism officer as member secretary (para 4.2.3). UP Tourism G.O.
4. Recommendation within 60 days
The 2025 policy gave 90 days; 30 from 25 August 2025; 60 from 7 January 2026, after which the file reaches the Directorate on its own. UP Tourism G.O.
5. Registration for 3 years
Fee ₹2,000 Silver or ₹3,000 Gold; ₹100 for rural homestays and dormitories. Since 16 June 2026 the unit renews itself on the portal from 3 months before expiry. UP Tourism G.O.
6. Cancellation on an adverse report
Breach of the policy or of the safety standards set for tourists ends the registration on the district administration's adverse report (para 4.5). UP Tourism G.O.
Homestay fire NOC and registration fees from official schedules
Fire services charge little or nothing for a small homestay; the tourism registration is usually the bigger fee. Only published rates are listed.
As published
- Goa Initial NOCFree"No fees is charged towards issuance of Initial NOC" Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services, Goa
- Goa licence fee for lodging₹10 per m²Where lodging exceeds 50 persons; the schedule gives no rate below that Goa Gazette 2022
- Goa Annexure III self-declaration₹100 stamp paperPremises up to 100 m² DFES Goa charter
- Meghalaya, A1 lodging up to 40 persons₹4 per m², then ₹500 a yearA2 dwellings sleeping 20 or fewer: not applicable Meghalaya F&ES
- Fire NOC in Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh and UttarakhandNilUP portal, HP checklist, and Uttarakhand's first two NOCs UP Fire dashboard
- Goa homestay or B&B registration₹1,000Gold or Silver, category D (2021 Rules) Goa Gazette 2021
- Uttarakhand homestay or B&B registration₹1,000 or ₹5,000Valid 5 years UTDB rules 2026
- Uttar Pradesh homestay or B&B registration₹2,000 or ₹3,000Silver or Gold; ₹100 for rural homestays since 25 August 2025; 3 years UP Tourism G.O.
- Himachal homestay registration₹3,000 to ₹18,000 a yearBy category and area HP Home Stay Rules
- Kerala homestay classification₹3,750Valid 3 years Kerala Tourism
- Tamil Nadu B&B or homestay registration₹8,000 or ₹13,500 for 5 yearsSilver or Gold; ₹15,000 or ₹18,500 for 7 years; ₹5,000 a month if renewal is late TN G.O.(Ms) 242
- Ministry of Tourism classification₹3,000 or ₹5,000Silver or Gold; valid 2 years Ministry of Tourism
Extinguisher, detector and installer prices are not set by any state and are not given here. Karnataka's homestay fee is "as notified by the Government" and no notification was found. Fees for other states' fire NOCs are on the fees page.
Six homestays worked through: Goa, Kerala, Shillong, Uttarakhand, UP, Coorg
Flamekite's reading of the instruments for 6 typical homestays; the fire officer's decision on your building prevails.
Case 1
A 4-room homestay in Assagao, Goa
Owner's house, ground plus 1, 250 m², registering with Tourism.
What applies A DFES NOC is document 1 on Goa Online. At 250 m² the Annexure III self-declaration, written for premises up to 100 m², does not fit, so apply for the NOC: lodging under 15 m and up to 15 rooms goes to the Assistant Divisional Officer, 10 days. Tourism fee ₹1,000. Goa Online TOU03
Case 2
A 6-room homestay near Munnar, Kerala
Two floors, 420 m² built-up, about 7 m, in a panchayat.
What applies Below 1,000 m² and 15 m, so no NOC; above 300 m², so an Appendix L self-declaration with an engineer's certificate, copied to the fire station. Classification costs ₹3,750 and asks nothing on fire. KMBR amendment 2025
Case 3
A 3-room homestay in Laitumkhrah, Shillong
Family house, 8 guests at most.
What applies A fire NOC is compulsory in Shillong at any size. Sleeping 20 or fewer it is an A2 dwelling, which the fee table marks not applicable; what DFES charges such a homestay is not published. The NOC runs 3 years. HPL.127/2023/43
Case 4
An 8-room homestay near Mukteshwar, Uttarakhand
Rural Nainital, 4 storeys stepped down a slope, 13 m.
What applies 8 fire appliances, one per room, for registration. At 13 m it crosses the 12 m residential line of section 15(4), so a fire NOC is needed too, in Flamekite's reading of a homestay as a residential building. Uttarakhand Gazette 2022
Case 5
A 6-room B&B in Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
Ground plus 2, 10 m, urban, owner resident.
What applies Fire-department-approved equipment and 3 CCTV cameras, inspected by the district committee with the District Fire Officer. Whether Rule 42's residential exemption below 15 m covers it is not settled: ask in writing. Fee ₹2,000 or ₹3,000. UP Tourism G.O.
Case 6
A 6-room plantation homestay in Coorg, Karnataka
Owner's bungalow and a cottage on the same survey number, 12 beds, 8 m.
What applies Far below the 21 m line: no NOC. Condition 9's fire safety, CCTV at reception with 30 days of footage, and the fire authority's contacts on display. Karnataka Tourism G.O.
Penalties a homestay owner faces for fire and registration lapses
The tourism penalties are small and certain; the fire Act penalties are larger and rarer. The heaviest is Meghalaya's: up to 2 years or ₹1 lakh.
| Offence | Penalty | Law |
|---|---|---|
| Running a homestay or B&B without registration in Uttarakhand | ₹10,000, then ₹1,000 a day while it continues | Rule 14, Tourism and Travel Business Registration Rules 2026 UTDB rules 2026 |
| Contravening the NOC section of the Uttarakhand fire Act | Fine up to ₹1 lakh plus up to ₹5,000 a day; jail up to 2 years in the English text, 10 in the Hindi | Section 21, Act 37 of 2016 Government of Uttarakhand |
| Not taking precautions a Goa section 13 notification requires | Penalty up to ₹10,000 | Goa Fire Force Act 1986, section 21 as substituted in December 2025 Goa Ordinance 4 of 2025 |
| Fire systems found not working at a Goa inspection | NOC revoked after a hearing | Notification of 23 June 2025, clause 3(b) Government of Goa, Official Gazette Series II No. 14, 3 July 2025 |
| Breaching the Meghalaya fire Act, the Shillong NOC duty included | Up to 2 years, a fine up to ₹1 lakh, or both | Section 20(1), Act 5 of 2012 Meghalaya Act 5 of 2012 |
| Breaching the UP policy or tourist safety standards | Registration cancelled on the district administration's adverse report | Para 4.5, UP Homestay and B&B Policy 2025 UP Tourism G.O. |
| Running a Himachal homestay against the rules | Penal action under the Tourism Development and Registration Act, 2002 | Rule 11(2), Home Stay Rules 2025 HP Home Stay Rules |
| Not telling the Ministry of Tourism of a change in facilities within 30 days | Classification withdrawn | Para 13, Ministry of Tourism standards of 2018 Ministry of Tourism |
Penalties under each state's whole fire Act are on the penalties page. A death in a fire also brings criminal charges outside these laws, as the Delhi case of June 2026 shows.
Homestay fire traps where tourism papers and fire law disagree
7 places where the two regimes do not line up, read on 25 October 2026, each with the fix.
If Goa Online lists a DFES NOC as document 1, yet its downloads offer a "Self Declaration towards Fire NOC" for 1 or 2 extinguishers
The form is the Annexure III one, for premises up to 100 m². Above that, apply for the NOC; at any size, ask the Deputy Director (Trade) in writing which paper Tourism accepts. Goa fire self-declaration
If Uttar Pradesh's policy calls a registered unit wholly residential, while Rule 42's exemption below 15 m leaves hotels and guest houses out
Ask the District Fire Officer on the committee in writing whether your unit is treated as a residence or as a guest house. UP Rules 2024
If Kerala's classification says nothing on fire, so owners assume no fire duty
The building rules still apply: above 300 m² file Appendix L, above 1,000 m² or 15 m get the NOC. KMBR amendment 2025
If Uttarakhand units running before 5 June 2026 must apply under the new rules within 180 days
That window closes on about 2 December 2026. Fit one appliance per room before the inspection. UTDB rules 2026
If Letting more rooms than the registration allows
The Delhi B&B where 21 died in June 2026 was reported to hold a permit for 6 rooms and to run 25. Every scheme caps rooms; extra rooms also push a house from A-2 to A-1. Business Todaynews report
If Himachal officers asking for a fire NOC at renewal although the Home Stay Rules list none
Carry rule 8(9) and Annexure II. News reports say the Chief Minister ordered in February 2026 that renewals not be stalled over fire NOCs; no written order was found. HP Home Stay Rules
If Delhi's draft B&B policy asks for Delhi Fire Service norms but was never notified, and a Bill to repeal the 2007 B&B Act was introduced on 7 August 2026
Until a final policy appears, apply the DFS line for guest houses (above 12 m or 4 storeys) and keep an ABC extinguisher. ThePrintnews report
Homestay fire NOC myths set against the rules
6 claims from guides and owners' forums, checked against the instruments.
You may have read
A homestay of up to 6 rooms never needs a fire NOC.
Myth
What the sources say
Goa asks for one at every registration since 13 January 2026, and Shillong for every homestay since 26 September 2024, whatever the size. HPL.127/2023/43
You may have read
The fire NOC turns on the number of rooms.
Myth
What the sources say
Most lines are height or area: 12 m in Uttarakhand, 21 m in Karnataka, 1,000 m² or 15 m in Kerala. Rooms count only in Ladakh's kit tables and in Goa's choice of officer. KMBR amendment 2025
You may have read
Homestay registration costs ₹3,000 Silver or ₹5,000 Gold in every state.
Myth
What the sources say
That is the Ministry of Tourism's fee for its own classification. States set theirs: ₹1,000 in Goa and Uttarakhand, ₹3,750 in Kerala, ₹2,000 or ₹3,000 in Uttar Pradesh. Ministry of Tourism
You may have read
The Incredible India scheme makes smoke detectors compulsory.
Myth
What the sources say
Item 35 marks smoke or heat detectors desirable for Silver and Gold. Only the extinguisher, item 37, is mandatory, and only for Gold. Ministry of Tourism
You may have read
Himachal needs a fire NOC to register a homestay.
Myth
What the sources say
The Home Stay Rules 2025 ask for basic fire equipment; none of the 7 documents in Annexure II is a fire NOC. HP Home Stay Rules
You may have read
A homestay is a hotel for fire purposes.
Myth
What the sources say
NBC-style schedules treat a family home sleeping 20 or fewer as an A-2 dwelling, exempt in Ladakh's Schedule I; a homestay run as lodging is A-1, not a hotel (A-5). Gazette notification S.O. 140
Homestay fire terms: A-1, A-2, Appendix L, Annexure III and more
6 terms a homestay owner meets in the fire and tourism papers.
- A-1 lodging or rooming house
- Separate sleeping rooms let on a transient or permanent basis, without individual cooking; Ladakh's 2025 Schedule I names home stays here. Gazette notification S.O. 140
- A-2 one or two-family private dwelling
- A home of 1 or 2 families sleeping 20 or fewer, at most 3 guests a rented room; exempt from fire norms in Ladakh's Schedule I. Gazette notification S.O. 140
- Appendix L
- Kerala's self-declaration for buildings of 300 to 1,000 m² up to 15 m, with an architect's or engineer's certificate, copied to the fire station. KMBR amendment 2025
- Annexure III
- Goa's 2018 extinguisher rule and ₹100 self-declaration for guest houses and temporary structures up to 100 m². DFES Goa charter
- Fire appliance
- The unit Uttarakhand's 2026 tourism rules count per room in rule 4(7); the rule does not say which appliance, so an extinguisher per room is the practical reading. UTDB rules 2026
- Gold and Silver
- The 2 Ministry of Tourism categories, also used by Goa, Uttar Pradesh and Delhi's draft; they change the fee and, under the Ministry's checklist, whether an extinguisher is mandatory. Ministry of Tourism
Homestay fire rules from 2018 to 2026
13 dated instruments and events that set where a homestay's fire duty stands today.
17 May 2018
Goa adds Annexure III: extinguishers and a ₹100 self-declaration for small guest houses and temporary structures. DFES Goa charter
10 December 2018
The Ministry of Tourism issues common national standards for Incredible India B&B and homestay establishments; corrigendum on 3 January 2019. Ministry of Tourism
22 October 2023
Ladakh's Homestay Policy: 1 to 6 rooms, fire equipment details "if any". Ladakh Tourism
26 September 2024
Meghalaya makes a fire NOC compulsory for homestays in Shillong and adjoining areas. HPL.127/2023/43
9 June 2025
Uttar Pradesh issues its Homestay and B&B Policy 2025 with fire-department-approved equipment. UP Tourism G.O.
25 June 2025
Himachal's Home Stay Rules: basic fire equipment, no fire NOC among the documents. HP Home Stay Rules
28 November 2025
Ladakh's Fire Safety Rules name home stays in A1 and exempt A2 dwellings. Gazette notification S.O. 140
6 December 2025
25 die in the Arpora nightclub fire in Goa (news reports). PTInews report
10 December 2025
Goa DFES issues fire and life safety guidelines for all occupancies. DFES Goa circular
13 January 2026
Goa Tourism lists a DFES NOC for every homestay registration and renewal. Goa Tourism order
26 May 2026
Delhi publishes a draft B&B policy for 30 days' comment, with DFS norms and an ABC extinguisher. Delhi Tourism draft
5 June 2026
Uttarakhand's 2026 Rules: one fire appliance per room, 180 days for existing units. UTDB rules 2026
16 June 2026
Uttar Pradesh raises the homestay cap to 8 rooms and 16 beds and adds self-renewal. UP Tourism G.O.
Homestay and B&B fires and the 2026 crackdowns, as reported
From news reports, not yet an official source.
News reports, not instruments; each is labelled with its publisher. The rules they led to are in the sections above.
22 August 2025
The Tribune reported Himachal's Chief Minister telling the Assembly he would consider relaxing the fire-equipment NOC condition for homestays in old heritage buildings. The Tribunenews report
8 December 2025
PTI reported 25 dead at the Arpora nightclub, which allegedly lacked a fire department NOC, and an audit of clubs and high-footfall places. PTInews report
16 January 2026
The Goan reported Assembly figures: DFES issued fire NOCs to 7 homestays in 2023, 2 in 2024 and 0 in 2025, against 1,479 guest houses in 2025. The Goannews report
January 2026
The Goan reported that residential flats and villas used for tourism must also bring a NOC from their housing society or residents' association. The Goannews report
2 February 2026
News Arena India reported Himachal's homestay portal launch and an instruction that renewals not be stalled over fire NOCs. News Arena Indianews report
4 June 2026
Business Today reported that the Malviya Nagar B&B where 21 died held a permit for 6 rooms and allegedly ran 25 without a fire NOC, and that Delhi would withdraw its B&B scheme. Business Todaynews report
7 August 2026
ThePrint reported the Delhi Bed and Breakfast Establishments (Repeal) Bill, 2026 introduced in the Assembly. ThePrintnews report
Homestays and their fire rules in numbers
Official counts behind the scale of the homestay fire question.
5,855
Registered homestay units in Himachal Pradesh, December 2025 HP Tourism statistics
23,874
Rooms in those Himachal homestays HP Tourism statistics
1,055
Homestays listed in Leh district District Leh
38
Items on the Ministry of Tourism checklist; 2 of them on fire Ministry of Tourism
20
Persons a family dwelling may sleep and stay A-2, exempt in Ladakh Gazette notification S.O. 140
180 days
For existing Uttarakhand units to register under the 2026 Rules UTDB rules 2026
Where a homestay owner files: tourism and fire portals
6 official portals, each with what you do there.
Goa Tourism
Goa Online service TOU03
Register or renew a homestay or B&B; the DFES NOC and the society NOC are uploaded here; 90 days to decide. Goa Online TOU03
goaonline.gov.in/Appln/Uil/DeptServices?__DocId=TOU&__ServiceId=TOU03Goa fire
Goa Online service FES91
Apply for the DFES Initial NOC, the first step to the NOC Tourism asks for. Goa Online
goaonline.gov.in/Appln/Uil/DeptServices?__DocId=FES&__ServiceId=FES91Uttar Pradesh
UP Tourism portal
Apply under the Homestay and B&B Policy 2025, with the documents of para 4.1.6. UP Tourism portal
up-tourismportal.inUttarakhand
Uttarakhand travel trade registration
Register a homestay or B&B under the 2026 Rules, with the rules in English and Hindi. UTDB rules 2026
uttarakhandtourism.gov.in/travel-trade-registrationKerala
Kerala Tourism homestay classification
Apply online for classification; ₹3,750, 3 years. Kerala Tourism
www.keralatourism.org/cls/homestays/guidelines.phpMeghalaya fire
Meghalaya Fire and Emergency Services
Links to the Invest Meghalaya services for a Fire Safety Certificate, the route for a Shillong homestay. Fire and Emergency Services, Meghalaya
megfireservice.gov.in
Running a fire-safe homestay: dos and don'ts from the rules
Habits the instruments ask for, beyond the kit.
Do
- Display the fire service's contacts and give them to guests at check-in, as Karnataka's condition 17 requires. Karnataka Tourism G.O.
- Keep exits unlocked and escape corridors clear while guests are in, as Goa's December 2025 guidelines ask of all occupancies. Goa DIP release
- Run a fire drill once a year and display the fire order on each floor, as Ladakh's A1 table asks. Gazette notification S.O. 140
- Tell the Ministry of Tourism of any change in facilities within 30 days if you hold its classification. Ministry of Tourism
- Keep at most 3 guests a rented room in a family dwelling, the A-2 condition in Ladakh's Schedule I. Gazette notification S.O. 140
Don’t
- Don't store or use more than 50 kg of commercial LPG in Goa without a prior DFES NOC and an IS 6044 installation. DFES Goa charter
- Don't change exits, partitions or wiring that affect escape in Goa without DFES approval. Goa DIP release
- Don't let rooms beyond your registration: 6 in Karnataka, Kerala and Himachal, 8 in Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh. Karnataka Tourism G.O.
- Don't leave the "fire-fighting equipment, if any" field blank: an empty answer tells the inspector there is none. Goa Form XXIII
What Flamekite could not confirm about homestay fire rules
8 points no official source we read settles, as of 25 October 2026.
Which fire paper Goa Tourism accepts from a small homestay: the TOU03 list says a valid DFES NOC, while the same page offers the Annexure III self-declaration. No written instruction was found.
What DFES Goa charges a homestay sleeping 50 or fewer: the fee schedule prices lodging only above 50 persons.
Whether Uttar Pradesh treats a registered homestay as residential, and so exempt below 15 m under Rule 42, or as a guest house.
Jammu and Kashmir's homestay and paying guest house guidelines of July 2022 were reported in the press; the order and any fire clause were not found, and the J&K Tourism registration site did not connect on 25 October 2026.
Rajasthan's Homestay (Paying Guest House) Scheme 2026 and West Bengal's Homestay Policy 2026 were described only by secondary sites; no official text with a fire clause was found.
Tamil Nadu's 2022 B&B and homestay guidelines (G.O.Ms.105), the base the 2026 amendment changes, were not read; Karnataka's homestay fee is "as notified" and no notification was found.
Which kind of "fire appliance" Uttarakhand's rule 4(7) means: the rule does not say.
Whether Delhi's draft B&B policy will be notified, and what happens to the 2007 Act's registrations if the repeal Bill passes.
Questions about fire NOC for homestays
When does a small homestay need a fire NOC?
- When its state asks for one at any size, as Goa does for every Tourism registration since 13 January 2026 and Shillong since 26 September 2024, or when the building crosses the state's line, such as 12 m in Uttarakhand, 21 m in Karnataka or 1,000 m² in Kerala. Below those, the homestay scheme's fire kit applies instead.
Is a fire NOC mandatory for homestay registration in Goa?
- Yes. Goa Online's registration service lists a valid NOC from the Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services as document 1, for new registration and renewal, following the Tourism order of 13 January 2026. The Initial NOC itself is free.
How many fire extinguishers does a homestay need?
- It depends on the scheme. Uttarakhand asks for one fire appliance per room; Goa's Annexure III one extinguisher up to 50 m² and two up to 100 m²; the Ministry of Tourism makes one mandatory only for Gold units. Himachal and Uttar Pradesh name equipment without a count.
Does a Kerala homestay need a fire NOC?
- Only above 1,000 m² of built-up area or 15 m in height. Between 300 and 1,000 m² the owner files an Appendix L self-declaration instead. The Tourism classification itself asks nothing on fire.
Do homestays in Uttarakhand need a fire NOC?
- Registration under the 2026 Rules asks for one fire appliance per room, not a NOC. A NOC follows only when the building is a residential building of 12 m or more, or crosses the Act's other lines.
How much does a fire NOC cost for a homestay?
- Often nothing: Goa's Initial NOC and the NOCs in Uttar Pradesh, Himachal and Uttarakhand are free. Meghalaya charges A1 lodging ₹4 per m² and ₹500 a year. Tourism registration usually costs more: from ₹1,000 for 5 years in Uttarakhand to ₹18,000 a year for a Diamond homestay in Himachal.
Does a bed and breakfast in Delhi need a fire NOC?
- Delhi Fire Service's certificate applies to guest houses above 12 m or 4 storeys. The draft B&B policy of May 2026 asked for DFS norms and an ABC extinguisher, but it was a draft, and a Bill to repeal the 2007 B&B Act followed in August 2026.
Keep reading
- Fire NOCWhat a fire NOC is, who issues it and the 36-state map.
- Fire NOC in GoaDFES stages, the 15 m line and Annexure III in full.
- Fire audit in GoaThe January and July certificate and the checks after Arpora.
- Fire NOC in KeralaKMBR rule 5(4), Appendix L and the fee table.
- Fire NOC in UttarakhandThe 12 m line and the low-rise kits of June 2025.
- Fire NOC in Himachal PradeshHotels above 12 m, the free NOC and the Home Stay Rules.
- Fire NOC in MeghalayaThe Shillong notification and the fee annexures.
- Fire NOC in LadakhSchedule I kits for guest houses and homestays by rooms.
Free tools for this
Words on this page, explained
Keep exploring
Fire NOC: the steps
Fire NOC by state
- Andhra Pradesh
- Arunachal Pradesh
- Assam
- Bihar
- Chhattisgarh
- Goa
- Gujarat
- Haryana
- Himachal Pradesh
- Jharkhand
- Karnataka
- Kerala
- Madhya Pradesh
- Maharashtra
- Manipur
- Meghalaya
- Mizoram
- Nagaland
- Odisha
- Punjab
- Rajasthan
- Sikkim
- Tamil Nadu
- Telangana
- Tripura
- Uttar Pradesh
- Uttarakhand
- West Bengal
- Andaman and Nicobar Islands
- Chandigarh
- Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
- Delhi
- Jammu and Kashmir
- Ladakh
- Lakshadweep
- Puducherry
Sources
Each source was opened and read on the date shown. How Flamekite checks its sources
- Government of Goa, Official Gazette Series I No. 42 (Extraordinary), 16 January 2026 (copy hosted by the Department of Tourism): Department of Tourism order N5/3(865)/2025-26/DT/339, 13 January 2026: documents for registration and renewal of hotels, homestays, shacks, water sports and other tourist trades, with the corrigendum of 29 January 2026 (opens in a new tab)
- Home (Police) Department, Government of Meghalaya: Notification No. HPL.127/2023/43 of 26 September 2024: compulsory fire NOC for hotels, lodges, homestays, resorts and business buildings in Shillong city and adjoining areas (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Uttarakhand, Culture, Tourism and Sports Section-1 (English translation hosted by Uttarakhand Tourism Development Board): Uttarakhand Tourism and Travel Business Registration Rules, 2026, notification No. 531 of 5 June 2026: fees, one fire appliance per room, homestay limits, 5 year registration, penalties (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Uttar Pradesh, Tourism Section-2 (merged copy hosted by UP Tourism): Uttar Pradesh Bed and Breakfast (B&B) and Homestay Policy 2025, G.O. No. 308/2025/41-2-2025/03(Sa0)/2025-CN-1894113 of 9 June 2025, with office memoranda of 25 August 2025, 7 January 2026 (I/1197926/2026) and 16 June 2026 (No. 1208/41-2-2026): para 4.1.4 fire safety equipment approved by the fire department, District Fire Officer on the district committee, fees, 3-year registration, 8 rooms (16 beds) (Hindi) (opens in a new tab)
- Ministry of Tourism, Government of India (H&R Division), hosted on the NIDHI portal: Common National Standards and Guidelines for Classification of Incredible India Bed & Breakfast Establishments and Incredible India Homestay Establishments, No. 4-TH-II(21)/2016-Pt-II-H&R, 10 December 2018, with the office memorandum of 31 December 2018 and the corrigendum of 3 January 2019: 1 to 6 rooms (12 beds), Silver and Gold, Rs 3,000 or Rs 5,000, 2 years, Annexure II checklist items 35 and 37 (opens in a new tab)
- Local Self Government Department, Government of Kerala (Kerala Gazette Extraordinary No. 3808): Kerala Municipality Building (Amendment) Rules, 2025 (G.O.(P) No.53/2025/LSGD, S.R.O. No.1240/2025, 29 October 2025) and Kerala Panchayat Building (Amendment) Rules, 2025 (G.O.(P) No.54/2025/LSGD): rule 5(4) restated, rules 35 and 36 (opens in a new tab)
Show all 54 sourcesShow fewer
- Gazette notification S.O. 140 (copy hosted by Simpliance): Ladakh Fire Prevention and Fire Safety Rules, 2025 (S.O. 140, 28 November 2025) (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Himachal Pradesh, Department of Tourism and Civil Aviation (copy hosted by HP Tourism): Himachal Pradesh Home Stay Rules, 2025: notification No. TSM-F(10)-10/2003-VI, 25 June 2025, with Annexures I to III and Forms A to C (opens in a new tab)
- Emerging Himachal single window: Fire NOC checklist and procedure (Form A) (opens in a new tab)
- Invest Uttarakhand single window: Service listing: fire services 26.0 and 27.0 (opens in a new tab)
- Gazette of Meghalaya No. 33, Part IIA, 14 August 2025: Home (Police) notification No. HPL.36/2019/212 of 24 July 2025: Fire NOC and Fire Clearance Certificate valid 3 years from issue; random or surprise inspections; suspension or revocation (opens in a new tab)
- Goa Online (Goa Electronics Limited for the Department of Tourism, Government of Goa): Service TOU03, Application for Registration of Hotel/Guest House/Homestay/Bed and Breakfast: documents (item 1, valid NOC from the Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services), 90-day processing, downloads including a self-declaration towards fire NOC (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Uttarakhand, Sarkari Gazette Extraordinary, 21 July 2022 (copy hosted by Uttarakhand Fire and Emergency Services): Uttarakhand Fire & Emergency Service, Fire Prevention and Fire Safety (Amendment) Act, 2022 (Uttarakhand Act No. 06 of 2022), assented 20 July 2022, notification 191/XXXVI(3)/2022/36(1)/2022: sections 15(4) and 18 at 12 m and 500 m2 (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Karnataka (PRS copy): Karnataka Fire Force (Amendment) Ordinance, 2023: section 13(3) high-rise NOC (opens in a new tab)
- Uttar Pradesh Gazette Extraordinary, 18 January 2024 (copy hosted by UP Fire and Emergency Services): Uttar Pradesh Fire and Emergency Services Rules, 2024, Notification No. 181/VI-Pu-8-2024-801(1)-2023: rules 40 to 56, 65, 66 and 72, Schedules VI and VII, Forms A-4, A-8 and A-11 to A-13 (opens in a new tab)
- Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services, Goa: Citizen's Charter, December 2024: 17 fire stations, 3 zones, 1,106 posts, the section 13 notification 3/5/97-HD(G) Part/3934 of 17 December 2014 with Annexures I and II, the 2018 Annexure III on shacks and guest houses, and the 2009 fee rules (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Himachal Pradesh, Department of Home (copy hosted by the Department of Fire Services): Notification No. Home-F(A)3-1/2019-I, 23 July 2019, under section 9(1) of the HP Fire Fighting Services Act, 1984: 17 classes of premises and 20 fire precautions, English and Hindi texts (opens in a new tab)
- Delhi Fire Service (copy of Delhi Gazette Extraordinary, Part IV): Delhi Fire Service (Amendment) Rules, 2025, notification F.No. DFS/HQ/Misc/2025/01(E-259159)/237, gazetted 26 May 2026 (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Sikkim, Sikkim Government Gazette Extraordinary No. 226, 16 June 2023: The Sikkim Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2023 (Act No. 04 of 2023): Law and Parliamentary Affairs Department notification No. 11(656)L&PAD/2021/13, 16 June 2023, assent 8 June 2023 (opens in a new tab)
- Jammu and Kashmir Official Gazette (Extraordinary), copy hosted by the Housing and Urban Development Department: J&K Official Gazette, Vol. 134, No. 39-4, 24 December 2021: the Jammu and Kashmir Unified Building Bye-Laws, 2021 (opens in a new tab)
- Chennai Metropolitan Development Authority (copy of Tamil Nadu Government Gazette Extraordinary No. 43): Tamil Nadu Combined Development and Building Rules, 2019 (G.O. Ms. No. 18, MAWS, 4 February 2019): rules 2(58), 7, 20, 39, 64 and Annexure IX (opens in a new tab)
- Telangana State Disaster Response and Fire Services Department: Circular Memorandum Rc.No.4039-2/EODB/2015, 5 March 2016: revision of the period of renewal of NOC, risk categories and random inspections (quotes section 13 of the Fire Service Act, 1999) (opens in a new tab)
- Department of Tourism, Government of NCT of Delhi: Draft Delhi Bed & Breakfast Policy 2026, circular F.No.1/10/TSM/Admn./B&B/2026 of 26 May 2026 (30 days for comments): 1 to 8 rooms and 16 beds, Delhi Fire Service norms, ABC fire extinguisher in Gold and Silver (opens in a new tab)
- Department of Tourism, Government of Karnataka (G.O. copy hosted by Karnataka Tourism): Guidelines for Registration of Homestay Establishments 2025, G.O. No. TOR 133 TDO 2025: 1 to 6 rooms and 12 beds, owner resident, 5-year registration, operating conditions 9, 10 and 17 (opens in a new tab)
- Department of Tourism, Government of Goa (download on Goa Online): Registration and renewal forms under the Goa Registration of Tourist Trade Act, 1982, including Form XXIII for a new or existing homestay or bed and breakfast (field: fire-fighting/hydrants, if any) (opens in a new tab)
- Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services, Goa: BRAP 2024 item 284: fire NOC fees and timeline (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Goa, Official Gazette Series II No. 31 (Extraordinary No. 3), 3 November 2022: Notification 41/1/2022/PG(Notification)/235 under the Goa (Right of Citizens to Time-bound Delivery of Public Services) Act, 2013: DFES services 81 to 116 with designated officers, time limits and appellate authorities (opens in a new tab)
- Fire and Emergency Services, Meghalaya: Annexure B (with continuation sheets B1 and B2) to notification HPL.179/2017/85: fees per m² and annual renewal fees for every building category (opens in a new tab)
- Uttar Pradesh Fire and Emergency Services: Dashboard: provisional, final and renewal applications, approvals and days to certificate (printed 24 October 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Goa, Official Gazette Series I No. 52, 25 March 2021 (copy on Goa Online): Goa Registration of Tourist Trade (Amendment) Rules, 2021: category D, homestay or bed and breakfast establishment Rs 1,000 for Gold or Silver; other accommodation Rs 4,000 (opens in a new tab)
- Department of Tourism, Government of Kerala (Kerala Tourism): Guidelines for the Classification and Reclassification of Homestay Units: up to 6 rooms, owner resident, Rs 3,750 application fee, 3-year classification (opens in a new tab)
- Tourism, Culture and Special Initiatives (T3-1) Department, Government of Tamil Nadu (copy on the Tourism Operator Registration System): G.O.(Ms) No.242 of 7 July 2026 amending the B&B and Homestay guidelines of G.O.Ms.No.105 (27 April 2022): B&B 1 to 8 rooms (16 beds), homestay 1 to 6 rooms (12 beds), fees Silver Rs 8,000 / 15,000 and Gold Rs 13,500 / 18,500 for 5 / 7 years, Rs 5,000 a month late penalty (scan; figures proof-read against the page images) (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Uttarakhand (PRS copy): Uttarakhand Fire and Emergency Service, Fire Prevention and Fire Safety Act, 2016 (Act 37 of 2016) (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Goa, Official Gazette Series I No. 36 (Extraordinary), 9 December 2025 (PRS Legislative Research copy): The Goa Jan Vishwas (Laws Amendment) Ordinance, 2025 (Ordinance No. 4 of 2025), promulgated 2 December 2025: Schedule I item 3 amends sections 20 and 21 of the Goa Fire Force Act, 1986 (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Goa, Official Gazette Series II No. 14, 3 July 2025: Home Department notification 3/14/2024-HD(G)/1652, 23 June 2025: 5-year fire NOC validity (opens in a new tab)
- Fire and Emergency Services, Meghalaya: The Meghalaya Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2012 (Act No. 5 of 2012), notification No. LL(B) 95/2003/85 of 30 March 2012: sections 1 to 42 (opens in a new tab)
- Department of Tourism, Government of Goa (download on Goa Online): Self Declaration towards Fire NOC: on Rs 100 stamp paper without notary, one or two portable fire extinguishers installed according to floor area (opens in a new tab)
- Tourism and Culture Department, UT Ladakh (copy on the Leh district site): Ladakh Homestay Policy 2023, notification of 22 October 2023 (SG-LD-E-22102023-1267): definition, eligibility and application form (opens in a new tab)
- Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services, Goa: Circular DFES/FP/CIRCULAR/25-26/268, 10 December 2025: Fire and Life Safety Guidelines for all Occupancies (opens in a new tab)
- Department of Tourism and Civil Aviation, Himachal Pradesh: Statistics of hotels, guest houses, restaurants, home stay units and bed capacity by district, December 2019 to December 2025 (opens in a new tab)
- District Leh, UT Ladakh: Tourism: 317 hotels, 691 guest houses, 1,055 homestays and 105 camps in Leh district; tourism over 60% of Ladakh's revenue (opens in a new tab)
- Goa Online (Goa Electronics Limited for the Government of Goa): Service page FES91: application for Initial NOC (opens in a new tab)
- Department of Tourism, Government of Uttar Pradesh: UP Tourism online portal: registration under the Homestay and Bed & Breakfast (B&B) Policy 2025 (opens in a new tab)
- Fire and Emergency Services, Meghalaya: Official site linking Invest Meghalaya services 14 (grant of FSC) and 1171 (provisional FSC) (opens in a new tab)
- Department of Information and Publicity, Government of Goa: Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services issues fire, life safety guidelines for all occupancies, release DIP/NB/AXP/CR/SM/2025/1041 (17 December 2025) (opens in a new tab)
- Department of Tourism, Government of Kerala: G.O.(Ms) No. 324/15/TSM of 21 December 2015: homestay classification (Diamond, Gold and Silver Houses) and its marked checklist; amended by G.O.(Ms) No. 03/2020/TSM of 16 January 2020 (scans; no fire item found) (opens in a new tab)
- Government of Sikkim, Sikkim Government Gazette Extraordinary No. 37, 5 March 2025: The Sikkim Registration of Tourist Trade Rules, 2025, Tourism and Civil Aviation Department notification No. 01/DoT&CAv, 4 March 2025, with Forms I to VII (opens in a new tab)
- Business Today: Delhi scraps BnB scheme after 21 die in fire: the Flourish Stay B&B held a permit for 6 rooms and allegedly ran 25 without a fire safety NOC (4 June 2026) (opens in a new tab)
- ThePrint (PTI): Bill to repeal B&B Act introduced in Delhi Assembly: Delhi Bed and Breakfast Establishments (Repeal) Bill, 2026 (Bill No 08 of 2026), 7 August 2026 (opens in a new tab)
- DT Next (Press Trust of India): 25 killed in Goa nightclub blaze; 4 arrested, 3 officials suspended; failure to enforce rules under scanner (8 December 2025) (opens in a new tab)
- The Tribune: Will consider relaxing NOC condition for fire-fighting equipment in homestays: Himachal CM Sukhvinder Sukhu (22 August 2025) (opens in a new tab)
- The Goan: Hundreds of shacks, hotels operate without fire NOCs (16 January 2026): fire NOC figures tabled in the Goa Assembly (opens in a new tab)
- The Goan: Govt draws the line, fire NOC must for all tourism activities (January 2026): society NOC for residential units used for tourism (opens in a new tab)
- News Arena India: HP govt rolls out homestay registration portal (2 February 2026): renewals not to be stalled over fire NOCs; provisional registration (opens in a new tab)