Skip to content
Flamekite
ContactFree fire NOC check

Fire NOC 34 min read

Fire NOC validity in 2026: how long a fire safety certificate lasts in every state and UT

Updated By Flamekite Editorial DeskFacts checked against official sources on

Quick answer

A fire NOC in India lasts between 1 and 5 years, and the term is set by each state, often by risk or occupancy. Uttar Pradesh gives homes 5 years but hotels, hospitals and assembly halls 1 year; Goa, Kerala (non-hazardous), DNH and DD and Lakshadweep give 5 years.

Some states now pair a long term with filings in between, such as a self-declaration after 30 months or maintenance certificates every January and July. Mizoram's 2026 amendment makes a final NOC valid indefinitely, and Delhi's valid-until-cancelled rule waits until 20 May 2027.

Fixed terms in force
1 to 5 years
By state, risk category or occupancy
36-state table
Mizoram final NOC
Indefinite
Amendment Rules signed 20 August 2026
The rule text
Longest renewal lead time
6 months
Manipur and Delhi
Validity in numbers
Delhi Form K regime
20 May 2027
Deferred 270 days on 16 October 2026
2026 changes

Fire NOC validity in India at a glance

How long a fire NOC lasts, in 10 facts with their sources. Last verified October 2026.
WhatThe ruleSource
Who sets the termEach state or UT, in its fire act, rules or a government order; there is no national termLok Sabha
Shortest fixed term1 year: hotels, hospitals, assembly and hazardous premises in Uttar Pradesh (Rule 44, 2024 Rules)LegitQueststudy
Longest fixed term5 years: Goa for low and high risk alike (notification of 23 June 2025)Government of Goa, Official Gazette Series II No. 14, 3 July 2025
Open-ended termsMizoram final NOC valid indefinitely, subject to renewal certification the government will notifyMizoram Home Dept
Risk-tiered statesChhattisgarh 3, 2 or 1 years; Kerala 5 or 2; Punjab reported 5, 3 or 1 (gazette not seen); Assam's 2025 Act makes the certificate valid until cancelledFire and Emergency Services and SDRF, Chhattisgarh
When the clock startsFrom the date of issue (West Bengal Act, section 11C(3A))West Bengal Legislative Assembly
Mid-term checkSelf-declaration of operational fitness after 30 months in DNH and DD and LakshadweepGazette of India Extraordinary
Renewal lead timesFrom 2 weeks (Tripura) to 6 months (Manipur, Delhi) before expiryHigh Court of Tripura/TFES/2025)
Hospitals, national adviceMoHFW and NDMA advisory of 23 March 2024: keep a valid fire NOC, renewed annuallyMinistry of Health and Family Welfare and NDMA
Last verified24 October 2026, against gazettes, government orders and fire service portalsNot stated

Fire NOC validity in all 36 states and UTs: term, renewal, filings

Fixed terms run 1 to 5 years. Each row gives the term, how early to renew, what must be filed while the certificate runs, and the instrument that says so.
OptionCertificate termWhen to renewFilings while it runsInstrument and dateSource
Andhra PradeshFirst occupancy NOC 1 year; then 1 to 5 years by occupancy under G.O.Ms.No.218 (2023) and No.178 (2025), such as 5 years for low-hazard industry and schools under 30 mApply 2 months before expiry, or pay 25% more (2006 Rules, rule 21); the 2026 amendment's s.13(4) notification is not yet madeA yearly maintenance declaration and Annual Fire Safety Compliance ReportG.O.Ms.No.218, 22 December 2023; G.O.Ms.No.178, 17 December 2025G.O.Ms.No.178
Arunachal PradeshNot set; left to rules, none foundNot setNot setAct 12 of 2026, in force 11 May 2026Government of Arunachal Pradesh
AssamValid until cancelled (s.23(1) of the 2025 Act); certificates issued up to December 2025 still printed 1 or 2-year termsForm XII renewal is still listed on Sewa Setu; whether it still applies is not confirmedSelf-declaration uploads and third-party auditors under the Amendment Rules of 17 October 2025Assam Fire and Emergency Services Act 2025 (Act LIII, 24 December 2025)Assam Act LIII of 2025
Bihar5 years residential, 3 non-residential, 2 hazardousForm M, 45 days before expiryNone published after the final NOCBihar Fire Service Rules 2021, 20 March 2021Bihar Rules 2021
Chhattisgarh3 years low risk, 2 moderate, 1 highApply 3 months before expiry (rule 39); renewed after inspectionSelf-declaration and third-party audit report every yearHQ order 204/Agnishaman/2025, 16 October 2025Fire and Emergency Services and SDRF, Chhattisgarh
Goa5 years for low and high riskForm R one month before expiry; inspection at the end of the 5 yearsAnnexure A self-declaration every year, on Rs 100 stamp paperNotification 3/14/2024-HD(G)/1652, 23 June 2025Government of Goa, Official Gazette Series II No. 14, 3 July 2025
Gujarat3 years for a new certificate, then 2-year renewalsAppoint a Fire Safety Officer at least 2 months before expiryForm B-2 yearly in years 1 and 2; Form B-15 every 6 months after renewalRegulations 2023, Regs 5.7, 7.2 and 7.5Gujarat Fire Safety Compliance Portal
Haryana3 years; 5 years for the first certificate of a residential building above 16.5 mRenewals run 3 years (section 20(3))Self-declaration every yearAct 14 of 2022, sections 19 and 20Government of Haryana
Himachal PradeshNo term in the Act; a Shimla NOC ran 2 years, 23 January 2024 to 22 January 2026Not publishedNone publishedHP Fire Fighting Services Act 1984, amended 2000HP Fire NOC copy
Jharkhand1 year: the Single Window renews on an annual basis (no Act or rule sets it)Renewal can be filed 11 months after approval; reminders 1 month, 15 days and 1 day before expiryNot setSingle Window fire services and the renewal SOP; Act 9 of 2024 leaves the term to rules not yet madeJharkhand Single Window
KarnatakaNo official term published; the KSFES site was unreachableNot publishedNot publishedKarnataka Fire Force Act 1964, high-rise NOC added in 2023Government of Karnataka
Kerala5 years non-hazardous at 5 times the annual fee; 2 years hazardous at 2 timesApplies from each holder's next renewal dateNone publishedG.O.(Ms)No.143/2025/Home, 4 August 2025Home Department, Kerala
Madhya PradeshFire Plan Approval 1 year; Fire Safety Certificate 3 yearsRenewed every 3 years, within 30 days of applyingA fire audit every year of the terme-Nagar Palika Fire Safety Module manual, effective 30 May 2025; the 2026 Act's rules not yet madeMP e-Nagar Palika manual
MaharashtraNo general term: Renewal of Fire Safety Approval only where another law requires itNot setForm B maintenance certificate in January and July; fire audit every 2 years for section 45 buildingsAct of 2006 as amended by Mah. Act XXIV of 2023Amendment Act 2023
Manipur5 years residential other than hotels; 3 years non-residential, hotels includedAt least 6 months before expiryOwner's Form C maintenance declaration, countersigned by the Fire Safety Officer, in January and JulyAct 9 of 2026, sections 24(5) and 25(2), in force 14 September 2026Government of Manipur
Meghalaya3 years from the date of issue (since 24 July 2025); the 2018 fee schedule still calls its renewal fee annualNo charge within 7 days after expiry, then a daily late feeNone published; random or surprise inspections allowedNotification HPL.36/2019/212 of 24 July 2025 (Gazette 14 August 2025); fees HPL.179/2017/85 of 12 June 2018Gazette 14 Aug 2025
MizoramFinal NOC valid indefinitely; provisional NOC up to 2 years, renewable for 2 moreRenewal certification still to be notifiedSelf or third-party certification, as the government notifiesAmendment Rules 2026, No. B-20011/2/2026-HM(F&ES), 20 August 2026Mizoram Home Dept
Nagaland2 years, whatever the occupancy (section 25(i))Not set in the Act; the Directorate's 2026 advisory asks for 45 days before expiryMaintenance certificate in January and July (section 24(5))Act 5 of 2023, Gazette of 31 August 2023Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services, Nagaland
Odisha2 years; 5 years for residential buildings of 15 m and above (Home Department Order 50908, 19 November 2019)Unaudited premises apply afresh 3 months before expiryAudit certificate from an empanelled auditor in January and JulySecond Amendment Rules 2025, 4 November 2025Odisha Home Dept
PunjabOrdinarily not less than 3 years (Act s.23(4)); certificates of Nov 2025 and Sep 2026 ran 3 years; Rules 2025 reported as 5, 3 or 1 by riskAt least 1 month before expiry, as the certificates requireNot publishedAct 12 of 2024; Validity of FSC Rules 2025 (06/05/2025-2LG1/401, gazette not seen)Punjab Gazette
RajasthanGenerally 1 year; medical buildings by Table 3 (none for G+1 without beds on a plot up to 1,000 m²; 5 years with beds up to 15 m on such a plot; 3 years up to 15 m on 1,000 to 3,000 m²; 1 year above that or over 15 m), industry by Table 4Apply online at least 15 days before expiry; Rs 5,000 penalty if lateYearly inspection and mock drill by empanelled agencies (direction 4)UDH and LSG fire order of 14 September 2023, directions 4, 5, 11 and 13 (proof-read)Rajasthan UDH
Sikkim5 years residential (not hotels), 3 years non-residential, 1 year for hotels, hospitals, assembly, storage, industrial and buildings needing a third-party certificate (rule 30; the wording allows two readings)1 month before expiry, on Form A-11 (rule 31)Owner's declaration on Form A6 every January and JulySikkim Fire and Emergency Services Rules 2025 (No. 99/Home/2025, Gazette 466, 17 December 2025); Act 4 of 2023, start date not foundSikkim F&ES Rules 2025
Tamil NaduNot set in the 1985 Act or 1990 Rules; a TNFRS fire licence of 30 December 2022 states 1 year from issueNot publishedNot publishedTN Fire Service Act 1985 (the 2025 Act is not yet in force)TNFRS licence
TelanganaConflict: 5 years in a 2016 circular, every year in the department FAQNot statedRisk-based random inspectionsCircular Rc.No.4039-2/EODB/2015, 5 March 2016TSDRFS circular 2016
Tripura3 years at first, then renewed every year (section 26(C))At least 2 weeks before expiry, by self-certificate or third-party Form-BThe yearly renewal itselfAct of 2022 as amended in 2025; notice F.3-8(NOC)/TFES/2025, 7 July 2025High Court of Tripura/TFES/2025)
Uttar Pradesh5 years residential; 3 years most non-residential; 1 year hotels, hospitals, assembly, hazardous storage and high-hazard industryOnline, at least 1 month before expiry, with inspection (Rule 45)Self-declaration on Form A-8 in January and JulyUP Fire and Emergency Services Rules 2024, Rule 44LegitQueststudy
Uttarakhand5 years for residential buildings except hotels; 3 years for all othersPeriodic renewal decided in 30 days (citizen charter); the department's FAQ still says yearlyA self-declaration every 6 monthsHome notification No. 342/XX-3/2021 (November 2021), in force until rules are madeUttarakhand Home notification
West BengalUsually 3 years; 5 years for government primary schoolsNot set in the orderNone publishedAct 1950, section 11C(3A); order 1589/FES-99/101/2025, 9 December 2025WB F&ES order 1589
Andaman and Nicobar Islands1 year for today's Fire Clearance Certificate; 5 years once the 2026 Regulation startsRenewal on the Fire Service portalMaintenance certificate each July under the RegulationPortal certificate format; Regulation 5 of 2026, gazetted 25 May 2026, start date not notifiedA&N CFO certificate
Chandigarh5 years for certificates and renewals since 6 May 2026; 3 years under the MC order before thatApplied for online (ServicePlus)A licensed agency certifies the building every JulyS.O. 2264(E), 6 May 2026, extending the Haryana Act 2022Gazette of India
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu5 years unless cancelled earlier (section 29(4))Not setSelf-declaration of operational fitness after 30 months; maintenance declaration each JulyRegulation 6 of 2026, in force 7 July 2026Gazette of India Extraordinary
Delhi5 years residential other than hotels; 3 years non-residential, hotels includedForm I, at least 6 months before expiryNone until Form K startsRule 36 of the DFS Rules 2010 as it stood before the 2026 amendmentDFS
Jammu and KashmirNot published: the 1967 Act has no certificate or validity clause, and the Single Window names a renewal NOC without a termFinal or renewal NOC averaged 10 days against a 20-day limitNot publishedJ&K Fire Force Act 1967 as adapted (S.O. 1229(E), 2020)J&K Single Window Clearance System
LadakhDraft 2025 bye-laws: 10 years for self-certified buildings (return every 2 years), 5 years with a fire NOC (yearly return); final text not confirmedRenewal on Form III(C) with a self-certificate and at least 15 photographsReturns every 1 or 2 years under the draftLadakh Rules 2025 (S.O. 140); draft Ladakh Building Bye Laws 2025, clause 8.12Ladakh H&UDD
Lakshadweep5 years for all buildings (Rule 12(3)); the government may extend itRenewal in Form GForm I maintenance certificate every JulyRules 2026, in force 3 September 2026Lakshadweep Gazette Extraordinary Vol. LXII No. 42, 3 September 2026
Puducherry3 years; schools, hospitals and large hotels every yearNot setCategories A and B: 2 agency audit certificates; inspections twice a year (A) or yearly (B); Category C: protocol re-uploaded every 3 yearsG.O.Ms.No.61 (Home), 10 September 2025Puducherry Gazette

How to work out when your fire NOC expires and when to act

  1. Read the dates on the certificate itself

    Start from the issue date and the term printed on it. A Ludhiana renewal of 6 June 2025 says plainly that it is valid one year from the issue date and must be renewed one month before expiry.

  2. Check which instrument set that term

    Find the act, rule or order behind the term and its start date. Kerala's 5-year term of 4 August 2025 applies only from each holder's next renewal, and Delhi's new Rule 36 waits until 20 May 2027.

  3. Place the building in its risk or occupancy class

    In Chhattisgarh, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Kerala and Bihar the term depends on the class. A hospital above 15 m in Chhattisgarh gets 1 year where a home of 15 m or less gets 3.

  4. Count back the renewal lead time

    Subtract your state's lead time from the expiry date: 6 months in Manipur and Delhi, 45 days in Bihar, 1 month in Uttar Pradesh, 2 weeks in Tripura. That date, not the expiry, is your real deadline.

  5. Diary the filings due before expiry

    Add the January and July maintenance certificates, yearly self-declarations or audit uploads your state asks for. Missing them can cost a late fee even while the certificate is still in date.

  6. Re-check the law a year before expiry

    Terms changed in at least 10 jurisdictions between June 2025 and October 2026. Look for a newer order, or a deferral like Delhi's, before you file.

Risk-based fire NOC validity: how the category systems work

Six states tie the term to a risk or occupancy class instead of one number. The riskier the use, the shorter the certificate: 1 year at the top in Chhattisgarh, Punjab and Uttar Pradesh, up to 5 years at the bottom.

Chhattisgarh moved to tiers by HQ order 204/Agnishaman/2025 of 16 October 2025, issued under Rule 38 as an ease-of-business measure; its preamble says certificates had until then been issued for one year. Low risk gets 3 years, moderate risk 2 and high risk 1, and every holder files a yearly self-declaration with a third-party audit report.

Chhattisgarh's tiers are spelled out by building. Homes up to 15 m, schools under 9 m and 1,000 m², offices under 12 m and 500 m² and small shops are low risk. Apartments above 15 m, hotels, larger schools, hospitals under 15 m and storage are moderate. Coaching centres above 9 m with more than 25 students, hospitals above 15 m, every assembly building, metro systems and high-hazard industry are high risk.

Punjab's 2024 Act, section 23(4), makes a certificate last ordinarily not less than 3 years unless a risk category is prescribed otherwise, and certificates issued in November 2025 and September 2026 ran 3 years. Its Validity of Fire Safety Certificate Rules of 3 July 2025 are reported to give 5 years to low risk, 3 to medium and 1 to high, but Flamekite has seen only a compliance tracker's summary, not the gazette. The section 22 risk-class notification has not been found either, so a Punjab owner must ask which term applies.

Uttar Pradesh sorts by use, not a risk score: Rule 44 of the 2024 Rules gives 5 years to homes, 3 years to most other buildings and 1 year to hotels, hospitals, assembly buildings, hazardous storage and high-hazard industry. Kerala's split is 5 years for non-hazardous uses and 2 for hazardous industry and storage. Bihar gives 5, 3 and 2 years to residential, non-residential and hazardous buildings. Assam renewed for 1, 2 or 3 years by hazard under its 1985 Act, but the 2025 Act that replaced it on 24 December 2025 makes the certificate valid until cancelled.

Goa chose the opposite: its notification of 23 June 2025 gives 5 years to low-risk and high-risk buildings alike and relies on a yearly self-declaration and inspection at renewal instead.

Risk and occupancy tiers, shortest term first
WhatThe ruleSource
Chhattisgarh, high risk1 yearFire and Emergency Services and SDRF, Chhattisgarh
Punjab, high risk (reported, gazette not seen)1 yearTeamLease RegTechnews report
Uttar Pradesh, hotels, hospitals, assembly, hazardous1 yearLegitQueststudy
Kerala, hazardous industry and storage2 years, at 2 times the annual feeHome Department, Kerala
Bihar, hazardous2 yearsBihar Rules 2021
Chhattisgarh, moderate risk2 yearsFire and Emergency Services and SDRF, Chhattisgarh
Assam, under the repealed 1985 regime1, 2 or 3 yearsFire and Emergency Services, Assam
Punjab, the Act's floor and 2025 to 2026 certificates3 yearsPunjab Gazette
Chhattisgarh, low risk3 yearsFire and Emergency Services and SDRF, Chhattisgarh
Punjab, low risk (reported, gazette not seen)5 yearsTeamLease RegTechnews report
Goa, low and high risk5 yearsGovernment of Goa, Official Gazette Series II No. 14, 3 July 2025

Fire NOC validity for hospitals, hotels, schools and assembly halls

The same hospital renews every year in Uttar Pradesh and Puducherry but every 5 years in Goa. These are the terms each state publishes for four occupancies that searchers ask about most.

HospitalsHotelsSchoolsAssembly halls and malls
Uttar Pradesh UP Rules 20241 year1 year3 years1 year for assembly (a shops-only mall is mercantile: 3 years)
Chhattisgarh Fire and Emergency Services and SDRF, Chhattisgarh1 year above 15 m; 2 years below2 years3 years under 9 m and 1,000 m²; 2 years above; 1 year for coaching centres above 9 m1 year
Puducherry Puducherry GazetteEvery yearEvery year for large hotels; 3 years for othersEvery year3 years
Meghalaya Gazette 14 Aug 20253 years; renewal fee Rs 1,5003 years; renewal fee Rs 2,000 (up to 4-star) or Rs 3,000 (5-star)3 years; renewal fee Rs 1,0003 years
Delhi, until 20 May 2027 DFS3 years3 years3 years3 years
Manipur Government of Manipur3 years3 years3 years3 years
Bihar Bihar Rules 20213 years3 years3 years3 years
West Bengal WB F&ES order 15893 years3 years3 years; 5 years for government primary schools3 years
Gujarat Gujarat Fire Safety Compliance Portal3 years, then 2-year renewals3 years, then 2-year renewals3 years, then 2-year renewals3 years, then 2-year renewals
Kerala Home Department, Kerala5 years5 years5 years5 years
Goa Government of Goa, Official Gazette Series II No. 14, 3 July 20255 years5 years5 years5 years
Lakshadweep Lakshadweep Gazette Extraordinary Vol. LXII No. 42, 3 September 20265 years5 years5 years5 years
National advisory, hospitals Ministry of Health and Family Welfare and NDMARenew annually (MoHFW and NDMA, 23 March 2024)No national ruleNo national ruleNo national rule

Where a state gives one term to all non-residential buildings, the same figure appears in every column. A hospital with a 5-year state certificate should still note the 2024 national advisory asking for annual renewal, and NABH's 1-year third-party inspection route for accreditation.

Mizoram's 2026 rule: a final fire NOC valid indefinitely

Mizoram is the first state Flamekite found to drop a fixed term for the final NOC. Its Home Department substituted Rule 57 by a notification signed on 20 August 2026, read by Flamekite from the page images.

Word for word

Final No Objection Certificate so issued shall be valid indefinitely subject to self-certification or third party certification for renewals as notified by Government from time to time.

Mizoram Fire and Emergency Services (Superintendence and Control of the Fire Force and Fire Safety and Prevention) (Amendment) Rules, 2026, new Rule 57(5); notification No. B-20011/2/2026-HM(F&ES), 20 August 2026 Mizoram Home Dept

The same rule keeps a cap on the provisional NOC: up to 2 years, renewable for 2 more on an application giving reasons. It replaces the 2019 Rule 57, which gave final NOCs 3 years for residential and 4 for non-residential buildings, and now names high-rise buildings as those of 24 m and above. The rules start on publication in the Mizoram Gazette, a date Flamekite has not found, and the self or third-party renewal scheme is still to be notified.

Fire NOC expired? Renewal, fresh application or a late fee

What an expired certificate costs depends on the state. In some it is a late fee; in Assam the renewal route closes and you start again.

  1. If Your NOC is in Assam and has already expired

    Renewal on Form XII is no longer open: the department's process flow says an expired NOC needs a fresh application. Fire and Emergency Services, Assam

  2. If You are in Odisha and filed audit certificates every January and July

    Renew without a fresh application or inspection. Premises without those audits must apply afresh 3 months before expiry. Odisha Home Dept

  3. If Your Tripura renewal has lapsed

    Ask the Directorate before paying: the July 2025 notice set Rs 500 a day, up to Rs 2 lakh, plus 10% of the first fee, but the Act passed in November 2025 and the 2026 Rules do not repeat it. High Court of Tripura/TFES/2025)

  4. If Your Meghalaya licence expired less than 7 days ago

    Renew with no extra charge; from day 8 to day 15 the late fee is Rs 5 a day, and Rs 15 a day after that. Fire and Emergency Services, Meghalaya

  5. If Your Gujarat certificate was cancelled, or no Fire Safety Officer was appointed

    Reapplying after cancellation costs 25% of the certificate fee, and without an officer the authority can move to discontinue use of the building. Gujarat Fire Safety Compliance Portal

  6. If Your Delhi certificate will still be valid on 20 May 2027

    It is deemed to fall under the new Rule 36, so it stays alive by a yearly Form K instead of a renewal, if that start date holds. Fire NOC Delhi DFS

  7. If Your Andhra Pradesh licence renewal is late

    Renewal is charged at the grant fee plus 25% when you miss the 2-month window. AP State Disaster Response and Fire Services

Late fees and fines for a lapsed fire NOC, by state

Five states print a price for renewing late, and one UT says it charges none. The highest published cap is Tripura's Rs 2 lakh.

OffencePenaltyLaw
Letting the yearly renewal lapse (Tripura)Rs 500 a day, up to Rs 2 lakh, plus 10% of the first application fee; not repeated in the Act as passed in November 2025, so unconfirmedHome (F&ES) notice F.3-8(NOC)/TFES/2025, 7 July 2025 High Court of Tripura/TFES/2025)
Renewing a fire licence late (Andhra Pradesh)25% on top of the grant feeLevy of Fee Rules 2006, Rule 21 AP State Disaster Response and Fire Services
Failing to renew on expiry (Meghalaya)Nil for 7 days; Rs 5 a day for days 8 to 15; Rs 15 a day afterNotification HPL.179/2017/85, Annexure C Fire and Emergency Services, Meghalaya
Late renewal (Gujarat)25% of the certificate fee for each 90-day block of delayRegulations 2023, Reg. 11, Table 3 Gujarat Fire Safety Compliance Portal
Late yearly or six-monthly declaration (Gujarat)100% of the plan or renewal fee for each 90-day blockRegulations 2023, Reg. 11, Table 3 Gujarat Fire Safety Compliance Portal
Occupying without a Fire Safety Certificate (Assam)Rs 10,000 to Rs 25,000 (low risk) up to Rs 1 lakh to Rs 5 lakh plus Rs 5,000 a day (high risk)Assam Fire and Emergency Services Act 2025, section 26 Assam Act LIII of 2025
Late renewal in DNH and DD (2025 SOP)No late fee at presentRenewal SOP of 4 August 2025 DNH and DD SOP

Running a building without a valid certificate is a separate offence with its own fines, sealing and disconnection powers; those are on the fire NOC pillar page. A late fee does not make an expired certificate valid for the days it lapsed. In Kolkata, the Rituraj hotel that burned on 29 April 2025, killing at least 14 people, had a fire licence pending renewal since 2022, the state's fire chief said.

Fire NOC filings due between renewals, state by state

A long term is not a free pass: at least 12 regimes ask for something between issue and expiry. Missing one can count against the next renewal.

Official pages that still show the wrong fire NOC validity

Department pages lag behind gazettes. On 24 October 2026 7 sources, 6 of them official, gave a superseded term.

  • If Goa's ease-of-business flowchart says a NOC is valid for one year

    Go by the notification of 23 June 2025: 5 years, with the yearly self-declaration. DFES Goa

  • If The Kerala portal FAQ says NOCs are renewed annually

    G.O.(Ms)No.143/2025/Home of 4 August 2025 gives 5 years to non-hazardous buildings from the next renewal. Home Department, Kerala

  • If The DNH and DD fire department still labels its service Annual Renewal

    Regulation 6 of 2026, in force since 7 July 2026, sets 5 years; check the date printed on any certificate issued since. DNH and DD F&ES

  • If Tripura's e-District guideline says 5 years residential and 3 non-residential

    Section 26(C), inserted in 2025, gives 3 years at first and then yearly renewal. e-District Tripura

  • If West Bengal's 2003 Rules give a 1-year certificate

    The 2018 amendment's section 11C(3A) gives 3 years from issue, and the department's December 2025 order confirms 3 years is the usual term. West Bengal Legislative Assembly

  • If Older guides give Mizoram 3 or 4 years for a high-rise final NOC

    That was the 2019 Rule 57. The rule substituted on 20 August 2026 makes the final NOC valid indefinitely, once gazetted. Mizoram Home Dept

  • If Commercial guides still give Uttar Pradesh a 1-year term for every building

    Rule 44 of the 2024 Rules sets 5, 3 or 1 years by use; only the high-risk group renews yearly. LegitQueststudy

How fire NOC validity terms changed, 2013 to 2025

The trend is longer terms with filings in between. Most of the change came in the 6 months from June to December 2025.

  1. 2013

    Kerala's G.O.(Ms)No.107/2013/Home leaves fire NOCs issued for 1 year as a matter of practice. Home Department, Kerala

  2. 5 March 2016

    Telangana's circular fixes renewal every 5 years for occupancy-NOC holders, after builders complained of yearly renewal costs. TSDRFS circular 2016

  3. 9 February 2018

    West Bengal's amendment Bill gives the fire safety certificate a 3-year term; the Act had no renewal clause before. West Bengal Legislative Assembly

  4. 22 January 2021

    Gujarat's amended Rules make a new certificate valid 3 years and each renewal 2 years; Surat tripled the new-NOC fee to Rs 1,500 to match. Surat Fire notice

  5. 20 March 2021

    Bihar's Fire Service Rules set 5, 3 and 2 years by occupancy. Bihar Rules 2021

  6. 22 December 2023

    Andhra Pradesh's G.O.Ms.No.218 issues new occupancy NOCs for 1 year and renewals for 1 to 3 years by occupancy; G.O.Ms.No.178 of 17 December 2025 lengthens four rows to as much as 5 years. G.O.Ms.No.218

  7. 18 January 2024

    Uttar Pradesh's Rules 2024 bring in 5, 3 and 1-year terms. LegitQueststudy

  8. 23 June 2025

    Goa extends every NOC to 5 years, low and high risk alike. Government of Goa, Official Gazette Series II No. 14, 3 July 2025

  9. 3 July 2025

    Punjab's Validity Rules end yearly renewal; reported tiers of 5, 3 and 1 years by risk, gazette not seen. TeamLease RegTechnews report

  10. 7 July 2025

    Tripura makes renewal yearly and sets a lapse fee of Rs 500 a day; the Act passed in November 2025 keeps yearly renewal but not the fee. High Court of Tripura/TFES/2025)

  11. 14 July 2025

    DNH and DD give final and renewal NOCs 2 years, 1 year for high-hazard industry, and the provisional NOC 6 years. DNH and DD order

  12. 4 August 2025

    Kerala lets non-hazardous buildings take 5 years at 5 times the yearly fee. Home Department, Kerala

  13. 10 September 2025

    Puducherry sets 3 years, but schools, hospitals and large hotels renew every year. Puducherry Gazette

  14. 16 October 2025

    Chhattisgarh replaces 1-year certificates with 3, 2 and 1-year risk tiers. Fire and Emergency Services and SDRF, Chhattisgarh

  15. 9 December 2025

    West Bengal gives government primary schools 5 years and launches a 5-year Spot Fire Licence for tiny shops. WB F&ES order 1589

Fire NOC validity changes in 2026, latest first

From news reports, not yet an official source.

Every instrument below was read on 24 October 2026. Flamekite adds a row when a new term is notified, deferred or brought into force.

Fire NOC validity in numbers

The figures that decide how often an Indian building owner deals with the fire service.

Six buildings and the fire NOC validity dates they must meet

Worked examples applying each state's published term to a real-looking building. The dates are Flamekite's arithmetic from the rules.

  1. Case 1

    A Delhi office whose certificate ends on 31 March 2027

    Non-residential building, certificate issued 1 April 2024 for 3 years

    What applies The renewal application was due by 30 September 2026, 6 months before expiry. The old Rule 36 still governs it because the new rule starts only on 20 May 2027. DFS

  2. Case 2

    A 20 m private hospital in Chhattisgarh

    Institutional building above 15 m

    What applies High risk, so the NOC lasts 1 year. A 12 m nursing home in the same city is moderate risk and gets 2 years; both file the yearly self-declaration and audit report. Fire and Emergency Services and SDRF, Chhattisgarh

  3. Case 3

    A Gujarat apartment tower certified on 15 February 2026

    Residential building, first fire safety certificate

    What applies Valid to February 2029. The owner must appoint a Fire Safety Officer by mid-December 2028, and the officer's renewal then runs 2 years at a time. Gujarat Fire Safety Compliance Portal

  4. Case 4

    A banquet hall in Lucknow

    Assembly building with a certificate issued on 1 November 2026

    What applies Valid 1 year, to 31 October 2027. Apply online by 30 September 2027 and file Form A-8 in January and July 2027. LegitQueststudy

  5. Case 5

    A restaurant in Kochi at its next renewal

    Non-hazardous eating house renewing in December 2026

    What applies Can take 5 years by paying 5 times the annual fee, or a shorter term of up to 4 years pro rata. Home Department, Kerala

  6. Case 6

    A Tripura shop 60 days past its renewal date

    Self-certified shop whose yearly renewal lapsed

    What applies Under the July 2025 notice it would owe Rs 30,000 (60 days at Rs 500) plus 10% of its first fee; the Act passed in November 2025 does not repeat that fee, so confirm with the Directorate first. High Court of Tripura/TFES/2025)

Five fire NOC validity myths, checked

  • You may have read

    A longer term means no inspection until renewal.

    Myth

    What the sources say

    Chhattisgarh's 2025 order lets the Designated Officer inspect at any time and revoke the NOC after a hearing, whatever its 1, 2 or 3-year term. Fire and Emergency Services and SDRF, Chhattisgarh

  • You may have read

    A new validity order lengthens my certificate at once.

    Myth

    What the sources say

    Kerala's 5-year term of 4 August 2025 applies only from each holder's next renewal date. Home Department, Kerala

  • You may have read

    A provisional NOC lasts as long as a final one.

    Myth

    What the sources say

    Mizoram caps a provisional NOC at 2 years, renewable for 2 more, while its final NOC is now valid indefinitely. Mizoram Home Dept

  • You may have read

    Hospitals get the same term as other buildings.

    Myth

    What the sources say

    Uttar Pradesh gives most non-residential buildings 3 years but hospitals 1 year. LegitQueststudy

  • You may have read

    Every hotel in India renews every year.

    Myth

    What the sources say

    Hotels get 3 years in Manipur and Delhi, and 5 years in Goa. Government of Manipur

Fire NOC validity terms: deemed, pro rata, self-declaration and more

Ten words that decide how long a certificate lasts, with the instrument each comes from.

Validity from the date of issue
The term runs from the day the certificate is issued; West Bengal's section 11C(3A) says 3 years with effect from the date of issue. West Bengal Legislative Assembly
Risk category
Low, medium or high class set by notification; under Punjab's sections 22 and 23(4) a prescribed class can change the 3-year term a certificate ordinarily gets. Punjab Gazette
Pro rata term
Kerala's option to take a term of 4 years or less, paying a matching share of the 5-year fee. Home Department, Kerala
Self-declaration of operational fitness
The owner's mid-term statement that systems still work, due after 30 months under section 29(4) in DNH and DD. Gazette of India Extraordinary
Maintenance certificate
A qualified agency's certificate that fire systems are maintained, due every January and July under the 2019 Model Bill pattern. DGFS, MHA
Fire Safety Certificate Renewal (FSCR)
Gujarat's 2-year renewal in Form B-13.3, issued by a private Fire Safety Officer; since 24 June 2024 only after the Regional or Chief Fire Officer verifies and approves it. Gujarat Gazette 2024
Form K
Delhi's yearly online declaration, with Rs 1,000, that will keep a certificate valid once the amended Rule 36 starts. DFS
Deemed coverage
Delhi's rule that a certificate still valid when the new Rule 36 starts falls under it automatically. DFS
Spot Fire Licence
West Bengal's auto-generated licence for tiny low-hazard shops, valid 5 years without an inspection, with random checks later. WB F&ES order 1590
Common Fire NOC
Mizoram's single NOC for an industrial estate or IT park with shared fire systems, under new Rule 57(A). Mizoram Home Dept

Where to renew or verify a fire NOC's validity online

Check a certificate's term and renew it only on government addresses. These 9 were reachable or listed on 24 October 2026; the full list of application portals is on the online apply page.

States with conflicting or unpublished fire NOC validity

By 25 October 2026 Flamekite could not find one clear, official, in-force term for 16 of the 36 jurisdictions. Here is what is missing and why.

  • Conflict

    Telangana

    A 2016 circular says renew every 5 years; the department FAQ and Citizen Charter say every year. Neither has been withdrawn. TGFD FAQ

  • Not notified

    Andhra Pradesh

    The 2026 amendment leaves the period to a section 13(4) notification not yet made, so the department's orders of 2023 and 2025 still set the renewal table. G.O.Ms.No.178

  • Secondary only

    Punjab

    The 5, 3 and 1-year tiers come from a compliance tracker's summary of the 3 July 2025 Rules, whose attached PDF now returns 404; Flamekite could not find the gazette. A Ludhiana renewal of 6 June 2025 ran 1 year; certificates of November 2025 and September 2026 ran 3. Ludhiana MC certificate

  • Not online

    Odisha

    The gazetted text of the 2017 Rules could not be opened (the host's security certificate is invalid); the term itself is published in Home Department Order 50908 of 2019. Order 50908 of 2019

  • Practice only

    Himachal Pradesh

    The Act sets no term; the one certificate Flamekite read ran 2 years. HP Fire NOC copy

  • Not in force

    Tamil Nadu

    The 2025 Act would give a third-party certificate 3 years, but it has not started, and the 1985 regime's term is not published. Government of Tamil Nadu, Gazette Extraordinary No. 263, 6 June 2025

  • Not gazetted yet

    Mizoram

    The 20 August 2026 rules start on gazette publication, which Flamekite has not found, and the renewal certification is still to be notified. Mizoram Home Dept

  • Not started

    Andaman and Nicobar Islands

    The 5-year term waits for the Administrator's commencement notification. Gazette of India Extraordinary, Part II Section 1, No. 19, 25 May 2026

  • Left to rules

    Arunachal Pradesh

    Its 2026 Act leaves the term to rules Flamekite has not found; a 2024 provisional certificate ran 1 year. Madhya Pradesh's and Jharkhand's new Acts leave it to rules too, but their portals already set 3 years and 1 year, Uttarakhand's 2021 notification sets 5 or 3, and Sikkim's 2025 Rules set 5, 3 or 1. Government of Madhya Pradesh

  • Not published

    Karnataka and Jammu and Kashmir

    No official term was found; Karnataka's fire service site was unreachable. Ladakh's terms come only from the draft 2025 bye-laws, whose final text was not found. Gazette notification S.O. 140

What a longer fire NOC term costs at renewal

Longer terms are usually paid for up front: Kerala charges 5 years' fees for a 5-year NOC, and Surat doubled its renewal fee when renewals became 2-yearly. Full fee tables are on the fire NOC fees page.

As published

Renewal fees change more often than terms. Check the amount on your state portal at payment.

Questions about fire NOC validity

What is the validity period of a fire NOC in India?

Between 1 and 5 years, set by each state. Uttar Pradesh gives homes 5 years and hotels, hospitals and assembly halls 1 year; Delhi gives 5 or 3 years; Goa and Kerala give most buildings 5 years. Mizoram's 2026 rule makes a final NOC open-ended.

What is the validity of a fire NOC in Maharashtra?

Maharashtra sets no general term. Its 2006 Act, as amended in 2023, renews a fire approval only where another law requires it, and instead asks for a Form B maintenance certificate every January and July, plus a fire audit every 2 years for the largest buildings.

How long is a fire NOC valid in Punjab?

Ordinarily at least 3 years under section 23(4) of the 2024 Act, and certificates issued in November 2025 and September 2026 ran 3 years. The Validity Rules of 3 July 2025 are reported to give 5 years to low risk, 3 to medium and 1 to high, but their gazette text was not found. Before mid-2025 renewals ran 1 year, as a Ludhiana certificate of June 2025 shows.

What happens if my fire NOC expires?

It depends on the state. Assam requires a fresh application once a NOC has expired; Tripura's July 2025 notice set Rs 500 a day up to Rs 2 lakh, which the Act passed later that year did not repeat; Meghalaya allows 7 days free, then a daily late fee. Meanwhile the building has no valid certificate and faces the state's penalties.

How early should I apply to renew a fire NOC?

Use your state's lead time: 6 months before expiry in Manipur and Delhi, 3 months for unaudited premises in Odisha, 45 days in Bihar and Nagaland, 1 month in Uttar Pradesh and 2 weeks in Tripura. Gujarat wants a Fire Safety Officer appointed 2 months ahead.

What is the validity of a provisional fire NOC?

It is set separately from the final NOC. Mizoram allows up to 2 years, renewable for 2 more, and DNH and DD's 2025 order gave the provisional NOC 6 years. Bihar's provisional NOC needs a bank guarantee valid 5 years.

Is a fire NOC for a hospital valid for fewer years?

Often, yes. Hospitals renew every year in Uttar Pradesh and Puducherry, and in Chhattisgarh when above 15 m. The national advisory of 23 March 2024 asks every hospital to renew annually, even where the state term is longer.

Does a new validity rule apply to the certificate I already hold?

Usually only at your next renewal. Kerala's 5-year term applies from each holder's next renewal date. Delhi is the exception: a certificate still valid on 20 May 2027 will be deemed to fall under its new Rule 36.

Keep reading

Keep exploring

Sources

Each source was opened and read on the date shown. How Flamekite checks its sources

  1. Lok Sabha (Ministry of Home Affairs): Unstarred Question 1199, 30 July 2024: fire is a State subject; NCRB 2022 fire incidents and deaths; fire services scheme (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  2. Government of Goa, Official Gazette Series II No. 14, 3 July 2025: Home Department notification 3/14/2024-HD(G)/1652, 23 June 2025: 5-year fire NOC validity (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  3. Home Department, Government of Mizoram (copy on the Mizoram Fire and Emergency Services site): Notification No. B-20011/2/2026-HM(F&ES), 20 August 2026: Mizoram Fire and Emergency Services (Superintendence and Control of the Fire Force and Fire Safety and Prevention) (Amendment) Rules, 2026, substituting Rule 57 and inserting Rules 57(A) and 57(B) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  4. Home (F) Department, Kerala (on the Kerala Fire and Rescue renewal portal): G.O.(Ms)No.143/2025/HOME, 4 August 2025: fire NOC valid 5 years (non-hazardous) or 2 years (hazardous) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  5. Delhi Gazette Extraordinary, Part IV (Home Department, Govt of NCT of Delhi): Notification F. No. 6/DFS/MS/HQ/MISC/2026/01/631, 16 October 2026 (No. 314, SG-DL-E-17102026-277257): commencement of Rules 34 to 38 and the First and Seventh Schedules extended to 20/05/2027 (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  6. Fire and Emergency Services and SDRF, Chhattisgarh: HQ order No. 204/Agnishaman/2025, 16 October 2025: risk-based NOC validity of 3, 2 or 1 years (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
Show all 81 sourcesShow fewer
  1. Government of Punjab (India Code): Punjab Fire and Emergency Service Act, 2024 (Act 12 of 2024) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  2. Punjab Fire Services, Ludhiana Municipal Corporation (renewal certificate copy hosted by Green Land Sr Sec Public School): Fire Safety Certificate, NOC type Renewal, dated 6 June 2025: valid one year from issue, renew one month before expiry (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  3. Ministry of Health and Family Welfare and NDMA (text reproduced by NABH): Joint advisory to prevent hospital fires, 23 March 2024 (HFW/Advisory to prevent hospital fires/23rdMarch2024/1) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  4. National Accreditation Board for Hospitals and Healthcare Providers (NABH): Revised Advisory for Minimum Essential Fire Safety Measures, 20 September 2022 (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  5. Government of Bihar, Home Department (English copy hosted by Bihar Fire Service): Bihar Fire Service Rules, 2021: rule 15 (NOC thresholds, forms, validity, renewal), rules 20 to 26 and Schedule C (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  6. High Court of Tripura (copy with the 2025 amendments and Home notice F.3-8(NOC)/TFES/2025): Tripura Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2022, section 26(C) and renewal lapse fee (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  7. Government of Manipur (PRS copy): Manipur Fire and Emergency Service Act, 2026 (Act 9 of 2026) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  8. Gujarat Fire Safety Compliance Portal (GujFireSafety CoP): Gujarat Fire Prevention and Life Safety Measures Regulations, 2023 (fees in Annexure 8) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  9. Surat Municipal Corporation, Fire and Emergency Services (with the State Fire Prevention Services circular of 12 January 2022): Public notice and office order of 31 January 2022 (Gujarati): fire safety certificates issued from 22 January 2021 valid 3 years, renewals valid 2 years, under the Rules amended by notification GH/V/9 of 2021 (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  10. Government of Maharashtra (copy hosted by PRS Legislative Research): Maharashtra Fire Prevention and Life Safety Measures Act, 2006 (Mah. Act No. III of 2007) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  11. West Bengal Legislative Assembly (PRS copy): West Bengal Fire Services (Amendment) Bill, 2018: section 11C(3A), 3-year fire safety certificate (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  12. Gazette of India Extraordinary (CG-DL-E-02062026-273069): Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Fire and Emergency Service Regulation, 2026 (No. 6 of 2026) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  13. Fire and Emergency Services, Assam: Standard Form XII: renewal application (renewable for 1, 2 or 3 years by hazard) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  14. Punjab Government Gazette (Extraordinary), copy hosted by PRS Legislative Research: Punjab Govt. Gazette (Extra), 26 November 2024: the Punjab Fire and Emergency Service Act, 2024 (Punjab Act No. 12 of 2024), Notification No. 12-Leg./2024 of 27 October 2024 (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  15. Uttar Pradesh Gazette Extraordinary, 18 January 2024 (copy hosted by UP Fire and Emergency Services): Uttar Pradesh Fire and Emergency Services Rules, 2024, Notification No. 181/VI-Pu-8-2024-801(1)-2023: rules 40 to 56, 65, 66 and 72, Schedules VI and VII, Forms A-4, A-8 and A-11 to A-13 (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  16. Puducherry Gazette Extraordinary, Part II No. 69, 15 September 2025: G.O.Ms.No.61 (Home), 10 September 2025: fire NOC categories A, B and C, 3-year validity, yearly renewal for schools, hospitals and large hotels (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  17. Gazette of Meghalaya No. 33, Part IIA, 14 August 2025: Home (Police) notification No. HPL.36/2019/212 of 24 July 2025: Fire NOC and Fire Clearance Certificate valid 3 years from issue; random or surprise inspections; suspension or revocation (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  18. Delhi Fire Service: Renewal of Fire Safety Certificate (FSC/NOC) (last updated 23/10/2026) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  19. Department of Fire and Emergency Services, Government of West Bengal: Order No. 1589/FES-99/101/2025, 9 December 2025: FSC validity usually 3 years; extended to 5 years for government primary schools (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  20. Lakshadweep Gazette Extraordinary Vol. LXII No. 42, 3 September 2026: Lakshadweep Fire and Emergency Services Rules, 2026 (Rule 12: 5-year fire safety certificate) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  21. Fire and Emergency Services, Assam: Process flow of service delivery: Recommendation, then NOC, through the EoDB portal (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  22. Home Department, Government of Odisha: Odisha Fire Prevention and Fire Safety (Second Amendment) Rules, 2025, notification PT1-HOME-FS-RULE-0001-2024, 4 November 2025: January and July audit certificates, renewal without fresh application for audited premises (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  23. Fire and Emergency Services, Meghalaya: Notification HPL.179/2017/85, 12 June 2018: fee structure and annual renewal fees (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  24. Delhi Fire Service (copy of Delhi Gazette Extraordinary, Part IV): Delhi Fire Service (Amendment) Rules, 2025, notification F.No. DFS/HQ/Misc/2025/01(E-259159)/237, gazetted 26 May 2026 (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  25. AP State Disaster Response and Fire Services: AP Fire and Emergency Operations and Levy of Fee Rules, 2006 (G.O.Ms.306, 8 December 2006) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  26. Assam Gazette Extraordinary No. 811, 24 December 2025 (PRS copy of the gazette): The Assam Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2025 (Assam Act No. LIII of 2025), notification No. LGL.52/2025/3: sections 1 to 67 and Schedule I (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  27. Department of Fire and Emergency Services, DNH and DD (single window portal): SOP for renewal of fire NOC (4 August 2025): 30 days, Rs 2,500, 2-year validity, no late fee at present (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  28. Maharashtra Fire and Emergency Services: Guidelines for Form B, Annexure A: to be followed by licensed agencies issuing Form B under section 3(3) and rule 4(2) (circular of 7 July 2026) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  29. Home Department, Chhattisgarh (on the CG Fire NOC portal): Chhattisgarh Fire and Emergency Services (Amendment) Rules, 2025, notified 24 November 2025: Rules 37A and 37B, third-party auditor certificate every January and July (Hindi) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  30. Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services, Goa: Ease of Doing Business: online fire NOC on Goa Online (FES91, FES92, FES93), annual self-declaration (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  31. Government of Haryana (PRS copy): Haryana Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2022 (Act 14 of 2022) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  32. Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services, Goa: Ease of Doing Business flowchart for fire NOC (still states one-year validity) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  33. Department of Fire and Emergency Services, DNH and DD: Department home page (service still labelled Annual Renewal on 24 October 2026) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  34. e-District Tripura: Guidelines for fire safety certificate and NOC services (Aadhaar e-sign, e-GRAS payment) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  35. Telangana State Disaster Response and Fire Services Department: Circular Memorandum Rc.No.4039-2/EODB/2015, 5 March 2016: revision of the period of renewal of NOC, risk categories and random inspections (quotes section 13 of the Fire Service Act, 1999) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  36. Government of Andhra Pradesh, Home (Prisons and Fire) Department (copy hosted by AP Fire Services): G.O.Ms.No.218, 22 December 2023: periodicity of renewal of No Objection Certificates for non-residential and residential buildings (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  37. Department of Fire and Emergency Services, DNH and DD: Order No. 35/01/IND/2014-15/DFES/105, 14 July 2025: provisional NOC 6 years; final and renewal NOCs 2 years, 1 year for high-hazard industry (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  38. Government of Madhya Pradesh (PRS copy of MP Gazette Extraordinary, 3 September 2026): MP Agnishaman Evam Apatkalin Sevayen Adhiniyam, 2026 (MP Act 16 of 2026) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  39. Gazette of India Extraordinary, Part II Section 1, No. 16 (CG-DL-E-18052026-272606): Lakshadweep Fire and Emergency Service Regulation, 2026 (No. 3 of 2026) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  40. Gazette of India Extraordinary, Part II Section 1, No. 19, 25 May 2026: Andaman and Nicobar Islands Fire and Emergency Service Regulation, 2026 (No. 5 of 2026) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  41. Government of Arunachal Pradesh (PRS copy of AP Gazette Extraordinary No. 128, 11 May 2026): Arunachal Pradesh Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2026 (Act 12 of 2026) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  42. Directorate General Fire Services, Civil Defence and Home Guards (MHA): Revised Model Fire and Emergency Service Bill, 2019 (opens in a new tab)checked 26 October 2026
  43. Gujarat Government Gazette Extraordinary No. 128, Part IV-B, 24 June 2024: Gujarat Fire Prevention and Life Safety Measures (Amendment) Rules, 2024, notification GH/V/80 of 2024: substituted rule 25 and Form B-13.3 (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  44. Department of Fire and Emergency Services, Government of West Bengal: Order No. 1590/FES-99/101/2025, 9 December 2025: Spot Fire Licence, auto-generated, valid 5 years, for very small low-hazard premises (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  45. Uttar Pradesh Fire and Emergency Services: UP Fire Service online portal (applications and NOC verification) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  46. Kerala Fire and Rescue Services: Fire NOC portal: online NOC, renewal, NOC verification, A1 template for fire plans from 14 July 2025 (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  47. Local Self Government Department, Rajasthan: Fire service: Fire NOC registration and certificate verification (nodal officer and helpline) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  48. Fire and Emergency Services and SDRF, Chhattisgarh: CG Fire NOC portal: New NOC, NOC Renewal, Fire Audit (with helplines) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  49. West Bengal Fire and Emergency Services: E-services: Fire Safety Recommendation, Fire Safety Certificate, renewal, fire licence (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  50. J&K Single Window Clearance System: Turn-around time: provisional and final or renewal fire NOC (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  51. Telangana Fire, Disaster Response, Emergency and Civil Defence Department: Frequently asked questions (fire NOC and renewal) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  52. Government of Andhra Pradesh, Home (Prisons and Fire) Department (copy hosted by AP Fire Services): G.O.Ms.No.178, 17 December 2025: Ease of Doing Business, revised renewal periodicity for industries and educational buildings (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  53. Home Department, Government of Odisha: Order No. 50908 of 19 November 2019: procedure for issue and renewal of Fire Safety Certificates and Fire Safety Recommendations (issuing officer, validity, inspecting team and time limit by building type) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  54. Himachal Pradesh Fire Services (NOC copy hosted by ABVGIET, Shimla): Fire NOC for an institutional building in Shimla, valid 23 January 2024 to 22 January 2026 (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  55. Government of Tamil Nadu, Gazette Extraordinary No. 263, 6 June 2025: Tamil Nadu Fire and Rescue Services Act, 2025 (TN Act 37 of 2025) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  56. Gazette notification S.O. 140 (copy hosted by Simpliance): Ladakh Fire Prevention and Fire Safety Rules, 2025 (S.O. 140, 28 November 2025) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  57. Kerala Fire and Rescue Services: Fee structure, G.O.(Ms)No.272/2024/Home (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  58. Fire and Emergency Services, Assam: Fee structure for fire NOC through the EoDB payment gateway (renewal fee 10% of NOC fee) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  59. Government of Jharkhand, Single Window Clearance System: Directorate of Fire Service: Advisory for Fire Safety (Pre Construction), Fire NoC before Occupancy Certificate and Renewal of fire NOC, each with a 30-day timeline (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  60. Government of Karnataka (PRS copy): Karnataka Fire Force (Amendment) Ordinance, 2023: section 13(3) high-rise NOC (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  61. Urban Administration and Development Department, Madhya Pradesh (e-Nagar Palika): User manual, citizen side: Fire Safety Certificate, version 1.0 (15 November 2025, in force from 30 May 2025) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  62. Government of Maharashtra (copy hosted by Maharashtra Fire and Emergency Services): Maharashtra Fire Prevention and Life Safety Measures (Amendment) Act, 2023 (Mah. Act No. XXIV of 2023), first published 11 May 2023 (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  63. Directorate of Fire and Emergency Services, Nagaland: Nagaland Fire and Emergency Services Act (Act No. 5 of 2023), Nagaland Gazette, 31 August 2023 (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  64. Urban Development, Housing and Local Self Government Departments, Rajasthan: Joint order No. P.11(9)UDH/2020 Part, 14 September 2023, on the fire safety certificate and fire NOC (18-page Hindi scan) (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  65. Government of Sikkim, Sikkim Government Gazette Extraordinary No. 466, 17 December 2025: The Sikkim Fire and Emergency Services Rules, 2025: Home Department notification No. 99/Home/2025, 17 December 2025, under section 63 of Act 4 of 2023, with Schedules I to V and Forms A1 to A20 (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  66. Sathyabama Institute of Science and Technology (copy of a TNFRS fire licence it holds): TNFRS Fire Licence R.C.No. 12703/A/2022, District Officer Chengalpattu, 30 December 2022: valid for one year (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  67. Government of Uttarakhand, Home Section-4 (copy hosted by Uttarakhand Fire and Emergency Services): Notification No. 342/XX-3/2021-2(39)/2006 of November 2021 under section 26 of the 2016 Act: 5 year validity for residential buildings except hotels, 3 years for other buildings, six-monthly self-declaration, fresh certificate on change of use (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  68. Office of the Chief Fire Officer, Andaman and Nicobar Islands: Fire Clearance Certificate format: no objection for a period of one year (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  69. Gazette of India, Ministry of Home Affairs (copy hosted by TaxHeal): S.O. 2264(E) of 6 May 2026: the Haryana Fire and Emergency Services Act, 2022 extended to the Union territory of Chandigarh, with modifications (opens in a new tab)checked 25 October 2026
  70. Housing and Urban Development Department, UT Ladakh: Draft Ladakh Building Bye Laws, 2025, published for objections under section 219 of the J&K Municipal Act 2000 (listed 17 October 2025; clause 8.12 Fire Clearance Criteria read from the page images) (opens in a new tab)checked 24 October 2026
  71. LegitQuest (legal database): Uttar Pradesh Fire and Emergency Services Rules, 2024: Rule 44 validity, Rule 46 cancellation (opens in a new tab)Peer-reviewed study · checked 24 October 2026
  72. TeamLease RegTech: Punjab Fire and Emergency Services (Validity of Fire Safety Certificate) Rules, 2025 (opens in a new tab)News report · checked 24 October 2026
  73. ETV Bharat: Rituraj hotel fire, Kolkata (30 April 2025): Fire DG says the hotel's fire licence had been pending renewal since 2022; toll reported as 14, later 15 (opens in a new tab)News report · checked 24 October 2026
  74. The Morung Express: F&ES Nagaland issues advisory on fire safety NOC application: renewals at least 45 days before expiry (17 March 2026) (opens in a new tab)News report · checked 24 October 2026
  75. The Tribune: Fire alarm: only 19% of high-rises in Chandigarh have fire safety certificate (April 2024; certificate valid 3 years) (opens in a new tab)News report · checked 24 October 2026